Art Diary: Week Ending 1st September

27/08/2012

Gardening yesterday and then gardening for most of today even though I planned to paint! I am not sure what happened here, although it was a Bank Holiday.

28/08/2012

I started to paint in all the images on SIMPLE SIMON: THE DEATH OF BILLY THE KID RE-ENACTED INSIDE MY HEAD AS I WAITED FOR A NUMBER EIGHT BUS. I am starting with the symbols – mainly because it is effectively the start of the working week and they are easier!

29/08/2012

I spent all day painting in the figurative images on SIMPLE SIMON: THE DEATH OF BILLY THE KID RE-ENACTED INSIDE MY HEAD AS I WAITED FOR A NUMBER EIGHT BUS. I had an early start too – comparatively speaking!

30/08/2012

I finished SIMPLE SIMON: THE DEATH OF BILLY THE KID RE-ENACTED INSIDE MY HEAD AS I WAITED FOR A NUMBER EIGHT BUS today. I painted in the remaining images and then tidied up the lines a little – I could possibly have done more. I (or Simple Simon) am not unhappy with the work; not totally happy with it either – which is par for the course.

Simple Simon: The Death Of Billy The Kid Re-Enacted In My Head While Waiting For A Number Eight Bus

Simple Simon: The Death Of Billy The Kid Re-Enacted Inside My Head As I Waited For A Number Eight Bus

31/08/2012

I wasn’t sure which work to move onto next – it would have to be one of the larger ones already started as I have run out boards to paint on (a few small works would have been tempting as a break from the more complex pieces but it is now impossible to buy canvas boards locally). I eventually decided to paint the main colour layer onto LANDSCAPE: THE LEGACY OF THE FOUR BREASTED WOMAN using acrylic paint. I finished this stage using, it has to be said, a fairly free and painterly approach.

Previously I had pasted two of my wife’s bras onto the canvas using acrylic paint extender as I didn’t have enough acrylic medium – I think it worked! It was bras she had thrown out I hasten to add; I didn’t raid her undies drawer!

Landscape: The Legacy Of The Four Breasted Woman - work in progress

Landscape: The Legacy Of The Four Breasted Woman – work in progress

01/09/2012

I caught up with my writing (a bit!) today in between going to town four times and a multitude of other things. Actually I would like to write more but I fear scheduling might be a problem!

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Diary, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 1st September

  1. mariannegv says:

    Wow! The “Simple Simon: The Death Of Billy The Kid Re-Enacted…” art is wonderful

Leave a Reply

