Art Diary: Week Ending 8th September

03/09/2012

Gardening eventually yesterday (Sunday) after rain induced fiddling around all morning. Today I started to add images – very free nipple variations to be exact – in the bra areas on LANDSCAPE: THE LEGACY OF THE FOUR BREASTED WOMAN. I am not sure if I did a very good job as I was still tired from my late afternoon exertions in the garden yesterday – trying to make up time – and a comparatively late night.

04/09/2012

A bit of a fragmented morning but I started painting at a fairly reasonable time. I started to add symbols to LANDSCAPE: THE LEGACY OF THE FOUR BREASTED WOMAN. All the symbols are initially derived from the two tree motif that is echoed across the composition. I meant to draw faint pencil lines first and place the images in ordered lines but in the end I just jumped in and drew them in a very spontaneous manner – I am not sure if this has worked – I haven’t finished yet anyway.

05/09/2012

No energy today – I never seem to have any these days! (I think I may have been energetic up to about fifteen then I aged prematurely!) – however I have provisionally finished LANDSCAPE: THE LEGACY OF THE FOUR BREASTED WOMAN. I have painted in all the images and added extra detailing but I may (or may not) tidy up the lines tomorrow.

Landscape: The Legacy Of The Four Breasted Woman - provisionally finished

Landscape: The Legacy Of The Four Breasted Woman – provisionally finished

06/09/2012

I didn’t tidy the lines on LANDSCAPE: THE LEGACY OF THE FOUR BREASTED WOMAN; however what I did do was amend some of the red symbols and add other details. I am calling the work finished (not sure what it is calling me!).

I then started adding images to NUDE SELF PORTRAIT (big work and correspondingly big task this – and it means I have to stand up to paint: probably good for me!). I also did a little initial pencil detailing on parts of the work.

Nude Self Portrait - work in progress

Nude Self Portrait – work in progress

07/09/2012

I didn’t have so much time to paint today however I carried on adding imagery to NUDE SELF PORTRAIT, getting a reasonable amount done – still standing up!

Nude Self Portrait - work in progress

Nude Self Portrait – work in progress

08/09/2012

Went shopping with my wife; when I finally got back to the house I had to water plants before getting into my studio (far too late to paint!) and spent the late afternoon and evening working on the computers.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Diary, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

