Art Diary: Week Ending 22nd September

16/09/2012

I was very pleased and honoured to be chosen as Artist of the Month for October by Artist Become Gallery. I had to prepare stuff for this over the weekend. Nothing much else of a creative nature was done – except the never ending stories in my head.

17/09/2012

As this is going to be a disrupted week I decided not to work on a large picture. Instead I worked on LANDSCAPE ON A CHOPPING BOARD: I did the drawing with graphite pencil, went over this with thin acrylic and then put a blue wash over the entire work. It is an imagined landscape although it was based on a photograph of dead branches I took on Sunday – the various elements of the scene prompted by the shapes and spaces of the branches.

Landscape On A Chopping Board - work in progress

Landscape On A Chopping Board – work in progress

18/09/2012

I have been out with my wife all day; nothing of an artistic nature done – although I did buy half a dozen Winton Boards and a small piece of hardboard to prime and paint on.

19/09/2012

All day in my studio. I completed the main painting stage of LANDSCAPE ON A CHOPPING BOARD. I will look on Friday to see if I need to tidy the lines, repaint or add detailing etc..

Landscape On A Chopping Board - work in progress

Landscape On A Chopping Board – work in progress

20/09/2012

Out with wife again. All I have done is take a handful of photographs and write a bit in the evening. Some of the photographs will probably be turned into paintings in due course.

21/09/2012

I wasn’t able to get into my studio until early afternoon when I finished LANDSCAPE ON A CHOPPING BOARD. As it turned out I didn’t redefine the lines or do any repainting; I did, however, do a little tweaking and added a few extra details.

Landscape On A Chopping Board

Landscape On A Chopping Board

After this I cut up a sheet of hardboard into mainly A4 Pieces (I rarely do A4 paintings so this should be interesting) and acrylic primed them.

After this I wrote a few things; including this.

22/09/2012

I spent most of the day painting walls – the wrong kind of painting. I suspect will send part of next week hanging wallpaper on them – the wrong kind of hanging (pictures is much better). I did some writing today though and I dare say I will find time to be a tiny bit creative next week.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Diary, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

