Art Diary: Week Ending 6th October

01/10/2012

I added all the figurative imagery to DAFT DOG DEVELOPMENT; which wasn’t necessarily a bright move as I also wanted to listen to the cricket World Cup – the two are decidedly not compatible! However I finished this stage. I might start to add colour tomorrow – while listening to more cricket!

Daft Dog Development - work in progress

Daft Dog Development – work in progress

02/10/2012

I painted in all the images in DAFT DOG DEVELOPMENT and also touched up the lines. After this I started to add words (“Cat Sat On A Mat!”) to the background. All being well I will finish this, and the work, tomorrow.

Daft Dog Development - work in progress

Daft Dog Development – work in progress

 

03/10/2012

I have completed DAFT DOG DEVELOPMENT: all the words are added – fairly casually it has to be said – and the the work looks OK to leave.

Daft Dog Development

Daft Dog Development

As I had a bit of time to kill I started the pencil drawing stage of two more landscapes, using images taken on my mobile phone as a starting point. I am doing eight A4 landscapes in this series. I originally cut and primed the panels for a collaborative work I want to start but then realised that they were too small for this project (I will probably use A3 watercolour paper instead) – the reason there is eight is I planned to do a series of variations! One picture is based on a photo of a landscape viewed from the far seat in a bus and titled LANDSCAPE FROM A DOUBLE DECKER BUS. I am not after complete verisimilitude but simplified and enhanced reality if this is not a contradiction. The other picture, in a similar way to LANDSCAPE ON A CHOPPING BOARD, uses a photograph of tree branches to suggest the lines in a larger scale landscape. However, while the above work used cut branches on a roadside the new work uses a tree fallen over a sunken path. The work in provisionally titled FIGURES IN A LANDSCAPE: there are various representations of figures.

At the end of the day I went over the pencil lines on FIGURES IN A LANDSCAPE with thin acrylic paint.

Figures In A Landscape - work in progress

Figures In A Landscape – work in progress

04/10/2012

June was ill and in bed and I decided to do the drawing stage of the remaining six A4 landscapes; from images on the computer this time (still ones I had taken on my mobile though) which meant sitting in front of the screen for most of the day. The works are roughly conceived in pairs and are provisionally titled as follows:

WINDMILL HILL FROM THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD and SIDBURY HILL SEEN FROM WINDMILL HILL. Both of these are enhanced or amended landscapes, although keeping most of the elements of the scene.

MY THOUGHTS IN A LANDSCAPE and MEMORIES IN A LANDSCAPE. These are very simple landscapes with superposed additions.

TRIPTYCH and OBSTRUCTION IN A LANDSCAPE (TRIPTYCH TWO). Again these are relatively simple views of the landscape on the Hampshire/Wiltshire border with vertical bands added. The latter will eventually carry information – i.e. symbols and figurative images.

05/10/2012

Not too much time to paint today although I got on well. I went over the rough pencil lines on three more of the A4 landscapes. Namely LANDSCAPE FROM A DOUBLE DECKER BUS, WINDMILL HILL FROM THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD (probably now called WINDMILL HILL FROM THE OTHER SIDE) and SIDBURY HILL SEEN FROM WINDMILL HILL.

Landscape From A Double Decker Bus - work in progress

Landscape From A Double Decker Bus – work in progress

Windmill Hill From The Other Side - work in progress

Windmill Hill From The Other Side – work in progress

Sidbury Hill Seen From Windmill Hill - work in progress

Sidbury Hill Seen From Windmill Hill – work in progress

06/10/2012

No art done at all today, save a little writing late in the evening. I spent the day in the garden as next week is supposed to be decidedly inclement.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Diary, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 6th October

  1. mariannegv says:

    My favorite in this post: “draft dog”

    • Gerald Shepherd says:

      Thank you very much. I did it to go with the equally daft Ruined Castle Rotations – although they don’t actually match!

Leave a Reply

