Art Diary: Week Ending 20th October

15/10/2012

I can’t remember what I did yesterday (Sunday), oh yes I can: June and I went out for a walk. Today it was back to painting in the images and symbols on NUDE SELF PORTRAIT.

 

16/10/2012

I completed NUDE SELF PORTRAIT – strewth I’m handsome! (joke!). After I had filled in all the imagery I had to tidy some of the lines – I hate that job! – and other detailing. By the time all this was done it was too late to start anything else. I may do another version with more abstracted images in due course. Not sure if I will keep any of my clothes on!

Nude Self Portrait

Nude Self Portrait

 

17/10/2012

I had to decide whether to paint some of the small landscapes I had started or return to one of the larger scale works I had begun much earlier. I decided on the latter and started to add figurative images to RED: TRAFFIC LIGHTS APOTHEOSIS – AMBER: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE (this is a different title to what the work was originally known by although the themes are the same – the original title is equally long winded so I wont repeat it here).

Red: Traffic Lights Apotheosis - Amber: Once A Thought Is Made Does It Last Forever? - Green: A Slowly Sinking Landscape – work in progress

Red: Traffic Lights Apotheosis – Amber: Once A Thought Is Made Does It Last Forever? – Green: A Slowly Sinking Landscape – work in progress

I left off this early afternoon and started to make substantial changes to the composition: adding a number of new sections and amending some which were already there.

 

18/10/2012

I carried on adding figurative imagery to RED: TRAFFIC LIGHTS APOTHEOSIS – AMBER: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE. Work was rudely interrupted mid afternoon by a trip to the dentist!

 

19/10/2012

I only had a few hours in the afternoon in which to work. I continued adding figurative imagery to RED: TRAFFIC LIGHTS APOTHEOSIS – AMBER: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE. The original image which prompted this painting was of street lamps at a roundabout on the edge of town; I was travelling on the top deck of a bus wondering about the meaning of life as everyone does in the same situation.

Red: Traffic Lights Apotheosis - Amber: Once A Thought Is Made Does It Last Forever? - Green: A Slowly Sinking Landscape – work in progress

Red: Traffic Lights Apotheosis – Amber: Once A Thought Is Made Does It Last Forever? – Green: A Slowly Sinking Landscape – work in progress

 

20/10/2012

A distinctly funny day and I didn’t really settle to anything. I never really got out in the garden, I never did any painting although I did a fair bit of work on the computers – whether any of it is worthwhile is a different question!

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Diary, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 20th October

  1. yourothermotherhere says:

    I like the Pac Man and arrow through the hat on your Nude Self Potrait. I have to say, I’ve been blogging on here for about 5 months and I’ve read some blogs that just amaze with the rich talent – genius quality – of a few bloggers. You’ve just joined their ranks.

    • Thank you very much! I greatly appreciate it.

      Incidentally, I seem to have spent my entire life with arrows in my hat!

      I agree about the blogs. There are some really great ones around – yours included! There some interesting ones on Tumblr too, although that site makes me feel decidedly old!

  2. Juliana Dexa says:

    I looove your Nude Self Portrait! You have a really interesting style.

    • Thank you very much for saying so. I have been developing this style since 1976 (although I started painting before that and have carried on the earlier styles under aliases) but – I think/hope! – that I am continuing to find new areas to explore.

Leave a Reply

