Art Diary: Week Ending 3rd November

28/10/2012

I couldn’t be bothered to do any gardening – ditto decorating etc. so spent most of the day doing odd jobs on the computers: writing, working on web sites, scanning and editing photographs etc..

 

29/10/2012

Back to work on RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE (and yes the title has changed again!). I am still adding fairly spontaneous symbols/images to the red and ochre bands.

 

30/10/2012

I have completed the main bands on RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE and started the underlying green sequences. This is a multi-faced work but freely developmental in that, unlike work of the Eighties and Nineties, I don’t work out the images beforehand but allow then to evolve from a small number of initiating icons – although interaction between sequences and other compositional elements is allowed.

 

31/10/2012

June and I went out for the day although I did work for about an hour first thing: continuing the process of drawing in symbols on RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE. Writing and all my usual web site maintenance work in the evening of course (I don’t normally finish what used to be called paper work until nine or ten although obviously I do stop for an extended dinner break – in the winter months actual painting sometimes stops as early as four though drawing, if I am at a drawing stage, may go on to six).

 

01/11/2012

I have finished drawing in all the images and symbols on RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE. I completed the symbols in the green bands and then did likewise with the blue (a different style of symbols in each).

RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? - AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT - GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE - work in progress

RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE – work in progress

 

02/11/2012

I got into my studio in the early afternoon and started to paint in the symbols on RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE. I finished early as I reached a logical stop off point about four and the light was beginning to fade anyway. Consequently not a huge amount of painting done today.

RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? - AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT - GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE

RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE – work in progres

 

03/11/2012

I was on top of my writing so spent most of the day in the garden, coming in late afternoon to work on the computers. All being well I will complete RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE towards the end of next week so then what – back to small works or carry on with large ones? I have got a lot of both started.

I reckon big works and to try and finish either GROUP PORTRAIT: SEVERAL PEOPLE SIMULTANEOUSLY CONTEMPLATING OBLIVION or DISEMBODIED CONSCIOUSNESS. Typically lugubrious themes although the iconography will probably be light hearted. It is not that I am a “glass half empty” type of person, more that I don’t believe there was anything in the glass in the first place!

As an aside: I drew in the main structures of GROUP PORTRAIT: SEVERAL PEOPLE SIMULTANEOUSLY CONTEMPLATING OBLIVION and then returned to the work sometime later to paint them in – rather strangely I couldn’t remember which way up it went! I think the first photograph below is wrong!!! Also my first idea was to have most of the bottom part of the canvas blank so I might paint the bottom sequential section in white – or even take it out all together.

Group Portrait: Several People Simultaneously Contemplating Oblivion - work in progress

GROUP PORTRAIT: SEVERAL PEOPLE SIMULTANEOUSLY CONTEMPLATING OBLIVION – work in progress

Group Portrait: Several People Simultaneously Contemplating Oblivion - work in progress

GROUP PORTRAIT: SEVERAL PEOPLE SIMULTANEOUSLY CONTEMPLATING OBLIVION – work in progress

Disembodied Consciousness work in progress

DISEMBODIED CONSCIOUSNESS –  work in progress

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 3rd November

  1. mariannegv says:

    My favorite is DISEMBODIED CONSCIOUSNESS

    • Thank you. I will probably end up doing a series of these as my original idea didn’t include a landscape. I will have to see how I get on when I start work again on it – I am running late on the other painting at the moment,

Leave a Reply

