Art Diary: Week Ending 10th November

04/11/2012

I couldn’t go out into garden as it was wet and my wife was cleaning the kitchen – those two activities are categorically not compatible! I did a bit of work on the computers and then went out to buy some boards to paint on, came back and she immediately decided we would go out again for lunch – It was some time later before I got back on the computers! Not much other creative work done except for a little photography.

 

05/11/2012

I cut boards ready for priming, photographed paintings and then belatedly started work again on RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE. I don’t think I will get this work completed this week now as there is a great deal to do.

 

06/11/2012

I started the day fiddling with web sites instead of painting – I am such an irritating person. I eventually returned to painting RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE but reached another logical cut off point just after four p.m. and then went back to fiddling with web sites again – I am planning some fundamental changes to my sites, probably now condensing three into two or even (eventually) one.

 

07/11/2012

I spent all day painting in images on RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE and listening to the radio. A reasonably good day with a bit of writing in the evening.

 

08/11/2012

I carried on painting sections of RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE. I actually finished all the sections save the more complex “sinking landscape/seascape” ones which, all being well, I will complete next week. I left off work when I had reached this stage.

RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? - AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT - GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE

RED: ONCE A THOUGHT IS MADE DOES IT LAST FOR EVER? – AMBER: STREET LIGHTS AT WEYHILL ROAD ROUNDABOUT – GREEN: A SLOWLY SINKING LANDSCAPE – work in progress

After this I painted over the bottom series of structures on GROUP PORTRAIT: SEVERAL PEOPLE SIMULTANEOUSLY CONTEMPLATING OBLIVION using a deliberately rough approach.

GROUP PORTRAIT: SEVERAL PEOPLE SIMULTANEOUSLY CONTEMPLATING OBLIVION

GROUP PORTRAIT: SEVERAL PEOPLE SIMULTANEOUSLY CONTEMPLATING OBLIVION – work in progress

During the latter part of the afternoon and evening I worked on the computers: mainly attempting to spruce up my main web site by replacing the welcome page and links – although I actually didn’t continue with the work I commenced on Tuesday.

For the last few years I have had two main hosted web sites plus a number of smaller free sites which promote a specific style or aspect of my work. In a cost cutting exercise I am phasing out one of my main promotional sites which I made with (the now defunct) i-web. The other site was really more for reference, and contained far more information and links but was made with a basic WYSIWYG html editor. I have now streamlined this site and improved the presentation and layout. I have also replaced the “hand built” galleries with hyperlinks to online galleries: principally Pictify, Picasa and Windows Skydrive – however, for the moment at least it is still possible to access the original galleries through links on the index page pictures. I am actually quite pleased with the end result and I may even move it in 2013 to a free hosting site rather than the paid for product I am using at the moment.

Fitted round the above work I put two coats of primer on the panels I cut on Monday. I may well start work on these tomorrow.

 

09/11/2012

I was out in the morning. When I got in my studio in the early afternoon I decided to work, as planned, on the six recently primed panels. I measured and marked out several in readiness for drawing very precise structures and also drew in the margins of all but one of the others.

I then put a thin ochre wash on one and will add spontaneous gestural marks on top and then more carefully defined structures on top of this – I will add images to these last named structures in due course.

Work in progress

Work in progress

On the final panel I roughly painted a primarily orange background using loose expressionistic strokes. I will possibly have to add further marks to this (I will look properly next week) and then add interacting symbols on top.

Work in progress

Work in progress

 

10/11/2012

Saturday: no painting although I spent a large part of the day writing after I got back from an early trip to town.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 10th November

  1. yourothermotherhere says:

    This was my first time here and it was, well, strange from what I used to from you. Kind of a
    Dr. Jekyll\Mr. Hyde thing. Superman\Clark Kent? Mrs. Doubtfire\Daniel Hillard? Ah, scratch that, I was trying for humor and even I didn’t think it was funny. Your paintings are cool, okay, sublime. (smiles)

Leave a Reply

