Art Diary: Week Ending 24th November

18/11/2012

The Blackberry is living again – I am not sure for how long!

Today was mainly a family day although I did snatch a few minutes in my studio and drew pencil squares in the bottom section of ABSTRACT MARK WHICH REMINDS ME OF A MERMAID’S TAIL.

I also put pencil squares over the paint surface on MARKS OVER MOVEMENT – DIALOGUE BETWEEN NO ONE ABOUT NOTHING. The painting has now moved away from the original idea so I will have to do another one!

MARKS OVER MOVEMENT - DIALOGUE BETWEEN NO ONE ABOUT NOTHING

MARKS OVER MOVEMENT – DIALOGUE BETWEEN NO ONE ABOUT NOTHING – work in progress

 

19/11/2012

My wife is off work for a couple days which has led to a somewhat disrupted day; I had to go to town three times for example! While in my studio I painted in the relevant section on IMPROVISATION WITH LINE THROUGH THE MIDDLE – STARTING WHITE, ENDING GREY and then put the work up.

IMPROVISATION WITH LINE THROUGH THE MIDDLE - STARTING WHITE, ENDING GREY

IMPROVISATION WITH LINE THROUGH THE MIDDLE – STARTING WHITE, ENDING GREY – work in progress

After this I painted the relevant sections on IMPROVISATION BEHIND A ROW OF OPEN PLAN BUILDINGS and as I couldn’t get into it I put this work away too.

IMPROVISATION BEHIND A ROW OF OPEN PLAN BUILDINGS

IMPROVISATION BEHIND A ROW OF OPEN PLAN BUILDINGS -work in progress

I then decided to leave all the pictures I am currently working on and start a completely new one (one of an eventual pair which will be essentially tinted drawings with a painted surround). The canvas is very thin and narrow – I actually have five canvases with this format which I originally painted on in the middle Seventies and then (as the works were awful) reversed, re-stretched and primed in the early Eighties: only to leave them alone until now. I started to draw in surreal figurative imagery but didn’t get that far before the light failed – I do have a variety of lights in my studio I hasten to add but these days I have tended to move onto the computers when the light goes. The work is called VIOLET PAINTING even though the only bit to be painted is the margin.

 

20/11/2012

Out for the day with my wife and sister so no painting done – although did I eat too much and I did spend too much (which tends to be the norm when shopping with June!). I also did a little photography during the day and a little writing (and related work) during the evening.

 

21/11/2012

I completed drawing in the evolving sequence of figurative imagery on VIOLET PAINTING. Now I either paint the lines or go over them with acrylic medium. Not until next week now though.

VIOLET PAINTING

VIOLET PAINTING – work in progress

 

22/11/2012

I drew in the whole figurative fantasy sequence (using pencil) on another thin long canvas despite having a late start. I will probably call this work BLUE PAINTING even though the margin is painted a light purple! Like the previous work I plan for the main part of the picture to be a washed over drawing – this might change yet though.

BLUE PAINTING

BLUE PAINTING -work in progress

 

23/11/2012

I couldn’t work in the morning and didn’t get into my studio until early afternoon. However I then got on quite well and completed the pencil drawing stage of another long work (although not related to the previous two). It has the working title of NARRATIVE 44.

NARRATIVE 44

NARRATIVE 44 – work in progress

 

24/11/2012

I was supposed to go on a wildlife conservation task but it was raining so hard I decided to cancel it. Then I had to find something to do – I evaluated my priorities and balanced them against what I fancied doing! In the end I worked on the computer – probably not being as productive as I should!

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

