Art Diary: Week Ending 22nd December

17/12/2012

Yesterday (Sunday) I was out in the garden and then, horror of horrors I cleaned by studio – albeit fairly quickly.

I was not in my studio a great deal to day, although when I was I added a number of washes on the images on NARRATIVE 44, for all intents and purposes finishing the work.

Narrative 44

NARRATIVE 44

18/12/2012

I had to do my Christmas cards (not that I send many these days as I prefer to e-mail) and then went out for a tea (and cake!) with an old friend. When I got back in my studio I started the initial work on five of the six new boards – I can’t remember if I mentioned that I cut one of the boards in half; hence five becoming six! I also can’t remember if I mentioned that I put some gestural mauve marks on the the sixth panel last week – I will actually paint over these in lemon or yellow.

I did the drawing using charcoal for BEGINNING AND END IN A LANDSCAPE and then did likewise for a slightly larger work entitled, very provisionally, LANDSCAPE AS THOUGHTS (FOR THE MORE ROMANTIC: LANDSCAPE AS DREAMS).

I then added the main paint marks (onto which images and symbols will be added) to STUDY FOR EXTERNAL CONSCIOUSNESS and ARE WE MERELY SOMEONE ELSE’S THOUGHTS.

Finally I did the rough drawing using light magenta paint of a work probably to be called SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS – ridiculous title I know as I have already said it is magenta!

19/12/2012

I have bought boards to paint on several times recently so I can do a work that is lurking in my head (a variation of a piece I did earlier in the year). All I want to do is put a layer of colour on the panel prior to adding a cloud of symbols but each time I start the process the work immediately morphs into something else – this has happened again today so another trip to the D.I.Y. shop this weekend I suspect. The panel in question this time had gestural mauve marks to which I added a yellow overpainting as planned, but because I missed a bit of the overpainting it now has a new concept and title: namely PARTLY UNCOVERED TRUTH. I have also amended some of the underlying marks and I will now add symbols down one side.

Partly Uncovered Truth - work in progress

PARTLY UNCOVERED TRUTH – work in progress

I also painted the background on STUDY FOR EXTERNAL CONSCIOUSNESS and ARE WE MERELY SOMEONE ELSE’S THOUGHTS – plus a lot of tweaking and alterations to the latter.

ARE WE MERELY SOMEONE ELSE’S THOUGHTS - work in progress

ARE WE MERELY SOMEONE ELSE’S THOUGHTS – work in progress

After this I went over the charcoal lines with acrylic jar colour on BEGINNING AND END IN A LANDSCAPE and LANDSCAPE AS THOUGHTS (FOR THE MORE ROMANTIC: LANDSCAPE AS DREAMS).

At the end of the afternoon with the light fading rapidly I started to repaint the lines and add the background on SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS but didn’t finish this stage.

Additional note: in the Eighties (and to a lesser extent early Nineties) my acrylic paintings tended to be more complex and precise than my works in oil. At the moment this is reversed and my acrylics tend to be very spontaneous and bold – I suspect too spontaneous and bold!

20/12/2012

I was out all morning and returned to working on the new panels when I got home. I started by putting another wash on the middle part of STUDY FOR EXTERNAL CONSCIOUSNESS.

STUDY FOR EXTERNAL CONSCIOUSNESS - work in progress

STUDY FOR EXTERNAL CONSCIOUSNESS – work in progress

I then completed painting the background on PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS.

SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS - work in progress

SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS – work in progress

Finally I started the main painting stage on BEGINNING AND END IN A LANDSCAPE and LANDSCAPE AS THOUGHTS (FOR THE MORE ROMANTIC: LANDSCAPE AS DREAMS); not finishing this stage in either work.

21/12/2012

I finished painting the primary paint layer on both BEGINNING AND END IN A LANDSCAPE and LANDSCAPE AS THOUGHTS (FOR THE MORE ROMANTIC: LANDSCAPE AS DREAMS). I was going to start adding images to the former work but decided instead to go and get another piece of hardboard to paint on. The weather forecast for the weekend is not good and walking in the pouring rain and wind with a piece of flimsy wood is probably not recommended – although I have always wanted to be able to fly!

BEGINNING AND END IN A LANDSCAPE - work in progress

BEGINNING AND END IN A LANDSCAPE – work in progress

ANDSCAPE AS THOUGHTS (FOR THE MORE ROMANTIC: LANDSCAPE AS DREAMS) - work in progress

ANDSCAPE AS THOUGHTS (FOR THE MORE ROMANTIC: LANDSCAPE AS DREAMS) – work in progress

22/12/2012

Out getting last minute Christmas presents and supplies for all the animals. I did find time to cut and prime the hardboard I got yesterday – plus, of course, a bit of writing.

I do now plan to start work on the oft postponed painting mentioned above – although I have now forgotten the working title! I am tempted to call it THE LEGACY OF THE TOPLESS GIRL! (THE LEGACY OF THE FOUR BREASTED WOMAN being the original picture which had two of my wife’s bras stuck to it). I have also cut another fairly large panel, I will have to decide which of the impossibly strange ideas floating around my head to put on it, and two small ones which may have examples of my spontaneous and perverse portraits on them – the titles of which remain in my head stored under “Probably Too Daft To Mention”.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Diary, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 22nd December

Leave a Reply

