Art Diary: Week Ending 29th December

23/12/2012

Sunday, which I spent (unusually) in my studio. I put a layer of yellow acrylic on the panel that will become TOPLESS GIRL (please refer to yesterday’s entry!).

I then did the drawing stage of another reasonably large work (large to me. probably small or medium to everyone else!) which I am calling APPENDED TREESCAPE (OR POSSIBLY APPENDED LANDSCAPE). I did a quick pencil drawing from a photo I took of a fallen tree and then superposed strips over the top in a seemingly random manner. It is in a similar style to THE BRAIN JUNGLE which absolutely no one will know as although I made notes I never actually did the work – there is a few thousand other art works by me in a similar state of almost existence!

After this I did the drawing stage of two small portrait/genre pictures entitled JANE AUSTEN CUTTING A CAKE and JANE AUSTEN HOLDING A BABY. The first is based on a very early photo of my late mother cutting a Christmas cake, rigorously hindered by me and watched, with some amusement, by my nephew. The second work is based on a photo of other relatives; principally an aunt and cousins. I imagined Jane Austen (who I admire immensely) participating in these domestic activities.

24/12/2012

I spent practically all day writing e-mails and social media messages: Facebook thought I was spamming! In the evening my wife and I went out! A decidedly non-creative day!

25/12/2012

My wife was working much of the morning which gave me the chance to go over the pencil drawings I did yesterday (APPENDED TREESCAPE (OR POSSIBLY APPENDED LANDSCAPE), JANE AUSTEN CUTTING A CAKE and JANE AUSTEN HOLDING A BABY) with thin acrylic colour – violet because I have got a lot of it and use it rarely! In the afternoon we joined the rest of the family to enjoy Christmas.

JANE AUSTEN CUTTING A CAKE - work in progress

JANE AUSTEN CUTTING A CAKE – work in progress

JANE AUSTEN HOLDING A BABY - work in progress

JANE AUSTEN HOLDING A BABY – work in progress

26/12/2012

I had some time in the morning again to work before before my wife and I went out to spend the remaining part of the day with the family. I painted over the strips on APPENDED TREESCAPE (OR POSSIBLY APPENDED LANDSCAPE) with bright colours, mostly primaries. I then washed over the remaining spaces with raw sienna.

APPENDED TREESCAPE (OR POSSIBLY APPENDED LANDSCAPE) - work in progress

APPENDED TREESCAPE (OR POSSIBLY APPENDED LANDSCAPE) – work in progress

27/12/2012

Back to a small degree of normality (or what goes as normality in this household!) although I had to go shopping in the morning. I, fairly roughly, painted in the branches and background on APPENDED TREESCAPE (OR POSSIBLY APPENDED LANDSCAPE). I hope to touch it up (or even partially repaint it) tomorrow.

28/12/2012

I only had the afternoon in my studio. I started my painting session by adding marks to the background of APPENDED TREESCAPE (OR POSSIBLY APPENDED LANDSCAPE); I didn’t like the result so painted over these sections but didn’t like this either so partially washed the paint away and then started to add new marks and colours – redefining some of the lines to tie in with this new work. The painting now looks “bruised but wise!”.

APPENDED TREESCAPE (OR POSSIBLY APPENDED LANDSCAPE) - work in progress

APPENDED TREESCAPE (OR POSSIBLY APPENDED LANDSCAPE) – work in progress

After this I started to paint JANE AUSTEN CUTTING A CAKE and JANE AUSTEN HOLDING A BABY but it got dark very early today and I didn’t want to work under artificial lights. I am hoping to allocate some time tomorrow (even though it is Saturday) to continue with these works.

29/12/2012

A very wet Saturday! I completed the main painting stage of both JANE AUSTEN CUTTING A CAKE and JANE AUSTEN HOLDING A BABY in between going to town twice! (although I did have a panini and an Earl Grey the first time – the second time I just got wet!). I didn’t do much else of a creative nature, other than a little writing and sort out and title a few of my art photographs.

JANE AUSTEN CUTTING A CAKE - work in progress

JANE AUSTEN CUTTING A CAKE – work in progress

JANE AUSTEN HOLDING A BABY - work in progress

JANE AUSTEN HOLDING A BABY – work in progress

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 29th December

  1. sweet paintings! I haven’t painted in ages. I really ought to get back to it.

  2. nuccij says:

    Greetings friend, wishing you a very productive year!

Leave a Reply

