Art Diary: Week Ending 26th January

21/012013

I spent Sunday in the garden and doing sundry odd tasks, none of which had a creative element. Today I was out until the early afternoon when I returned to adding images to ESSAY: MESSAGE TO MYSELF.

22/01/2013

A full day in my studio and I continued drawing the image variations on ESSAY: MESSAGE TO MYSELF. This is quite a protracted process but I should finish it tomorrow.

23/01/2013

I have completed all the image drawing on ESSAY: MESSAGE TO MYSELF. The scene variations are spontaneous but restricted to a set number of components (with a tiny amount of poetic licence for effect).

ESSAY: MESSAGE TO MYSELF - work in progress

ESSAY: MESSAGE TO MYSELF – work in progress

After I had done the above I started to add elements to ARE WE MERELY SOMEONE ELSE’S THOUGHTS but I hadn’t done a great deal when I moved onto the computers – after walking the dog and feeding countless animals.

ARE WE MERELY SOMEONE ELSE’S THOUGHTS - work in progress

ARE WE MERELY SOMEONE ELSE’S THOUGHTS – work in progress

24/01/2013

I painted in all the images on PARTLY UNCOVERED TRUTH as well as adding new ones. I couldn’t quite decide what colours to use so some of the images were painted over a number of times. Curiously when I paint in oils I invariably mix colours, mainly to harmonise them, but when using acrylics I quite often use the colours straight from the tube. Some of the lines will need reinforcing – hopefully I will have time tomorrow as over the weekend I am taking down and putting up huge lengths of book shelves.

25/01/2013

I got into my studio quite late in the day but had time to finish PARTLY UNCOVERED TRUTH by repainting/tidying up some of the lines.

PARTLY UNCOVERED TRUTH

PARTLY UNCOVERED TRUTH

I then added more shapes or simple images to ARE WE MERELY SOMEONE ELSE’S THOUGHTS, leaving off at about 6.pm with more to be added (in a different colour).

26/01/2013

I spent all day taking down and putting up book shelves. I still hadn’t replaced all the books when I called it a day.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Diary, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

