Art Diary: Week Ending 16th February

10/02/2013

It was wet so I didn’t go out into the garden at all this Sunday. I did odd jobs around the house in the morning and then sat down and finished the drawings in my sketchbook entitled PERSON IN A LANDSCAPE, completing the book – there are 61 drawings; the odd number because I have a habit of drawing on the inside back cover. I then spent the rest of the afternoon and large part of the evening working on the computers. This work included a number of new text art compositions.

PERSON IN A LANDSCAPE - one of sixty one

PERSON IN A LANDSCAPE – one of sixty one

METAMORPHOSIS OF NARCISSUS

METAMORPHOSIS OF NARCISSUS

11/02/2013

A quick trip to town and I then spent the rest of the day in my studio. I first added patterning to the abstract tail shape on the work: ABSTRACT MARK WHICH REMINDS ME OF A MERMAID’S TAIL.

I then started to added symbols and other imagery to MULTIPLE MONOLOGUES: A SEQUENCE OF SILENCES (extended titled). I used repeated door and window shapes as the starting point and then let the images interact and evolve.

I began experimenting on computer art works in the evening – as well as the usual blogging.

EXPERIMENT 4

EXPERIMENT 4

12/02/2013

More snow, can you believe it. I stayed indoors most of the day working in my studio. I finished adding all the images to MULTIPLE MONOLOGUES: A SEQUENCE OF SILENCES. The imagery ranges from abstractions to figurative and there is a lot of interaction between the various sets. The series of blanked out squares along the middle of the work I am not touching hence the allusion to repeated silences

MULTIPLE MONOLOGUES: A SEQUENCE OF SILENCES - work in progress

MULTIPLE MONOLOGUES: A SEQUENCE OF SILENCES – work in progress

13/02/2013

I had to go with my father on another trip to the hospital so no work in my studio. I did more sketch book drawings – not very well as it turned out; I will have to ease off on the red wine with my dinner! – and I also quickly wrote the text component of a painting I want to restart this month entitled SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS.

14/02/2013

Out with my father to hospital again today. I did more sketch book drawings – rather better ones than yesterday! When I got home I did another batch of computer creations.

MOUSE STUDY - MOORS ONE

MOUSE STUDY – MOORS ONE

15/02/2013

I spent most of the day, apart from the time spent on my new mini tablet computer (the ultimate boys toy!), painting in images on MULTIPLE MONOLOGUES: A SEQUENCE OF SILENCES. I could possibly try and finish this over the weekend but I expect I will wait until Monday.

16/02/2013

I did a tiny bit of work on MULTIPLE MONOLOGUES: A SEQUENCE OF SILENCES and then went out for a meal with my wife. I came back and spent the rest of the afternoon and early evening working on the computers – excluding trips to town to fetch countless shopping bags.

MULTIPLE MONOLOGUES: A SEQUENCE OF SILENCES - work in progress

MULTIPLE MONOLOGUES: A SEQUENCE OF SILENCES – work in progress

As a major project I want to digitise all my sketch book drawings – probably between five and six thousand in total. I did start during the latter part of 2011 and created a Facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Gerald-Shepherd-Imprisoned-Voices/217509268309918) for the images but got sidetracked last year. I aim to try and do fifty a week for the next year or two – PHEW!!!.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 16th February

  1. yourothermotherhere says:

    While I admired “MOUSE STUDY – MOORS ONE” the edelweiss song kept going through my head. Very nice.

    • Ha ha did it. Maybe I would have Wuthering Heights by Kate Bush or, if I was feeling unusually cultured, Winterreise by Schubert (just the thing when you are feeling depressed!). Thank you very much though.

Leave a Reply

