Memories As Art

I meant to spend today mastering Gimp and the graphics tablet I bought myself as a Christmas present over six years ago but haven’t used yet (I might as well bought myself aftershave and socks!).  However the tablet went wrong (the video card of the computer with the largest monitor also went awry) and I have as much chance of getting on top of gimp in a day as I have of discovering Atlantis!

Towards the end of the day I annotated some of my father’s slides – circa 1963-1967 with what I fear are over poignant labels.

I Was Thinking Then Of Me Thinking Now

I Was Thinking Then Of Me Thinking Now

Some Doors Can Never Be Opened

Some Doors Can Never Be Opened

We've Lost Touch

We’ve Lost Touch

Half Way

Half Way

Can memories Last Forever

Can memories Last Forever

All Gone!

All Gone!

 

 

 

 

 

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Memories As Art

  1. yourothermotherhere says:

    I don’t think they’re over poignant labels. They fit the pictures. Thank you for sharing them. I think that took a lot of openness and courage. And out of curiosity, what is that red dot to your right on the first one?

  2. yalelu89 says:

    Reblogged this on La Vertu Du Vice.

  3. nuccij says:

    Wonderful,thanks for sharing.

  4. nuccij says:

    Really like the first picture…there is a certain” time machine” aspect in my life right now,this resonates.

  5. I would happily go back there now. It was the little dining room (which we actually used as our main living space despite its small size) in our second house. My parents never owned a house: the first one was a farm tide cottage which went with my father’s employment and the second one was council owned – and it had a bath and inside toilet!

  6. timruane24 says:

    I love the dark one of the kids.

Leave a Reply

