Art Diary: Week Ending 2nd March

24/02/2013

Although my wife worked during the morning again I gardened (if that is a word!) and we then went out and socialized during the afternoon. Not a great deal of creative work was done – if you exclude being a friendly werewolf, merman or gigantic robot and having adventures with the great grandchildren (not all three personas simultaneously I hasten to add)!

25/02/2013

I spent all day doing the initial pencil drawing stage of six new works: four are variations on SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS (all four have fairly experimental formats although two are relatively logical and two are exceedingly less so!) and two smaller works, both of which made use of the timber sticker found on the panels as structural sources – on one I also attached a pebble (which formed the basis for a series of shape variations – in the middle of which will be symbols based on the screw head in the centre of the pebble – my wife found the pebble conveniently with a neat hole in the middle).

SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS VARIATION work in progress)

SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS (VARIATION) – work in progress

SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS (VARIATION) - work in progress)

SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS (VARIATION) – work in progress)

SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS (VARIATION) - work in progress

SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS (VARIATION) – work in progress

SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS (VARIATION) - work in progress

SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS (VARIATION) – work in progress

Untitled at present

Untitled at present

Untitled at present

Untitled at present

26/02/2013

Although I planned to spend the day working in my studio (adding the images to the structures on ABSTRACT MARK WHICH REMINDS ME OF A MERMAID’S TAIL) I decided on the spur of the moment to experiment with my painting programs on the computers (Gimp and MyPaint). Things didn’t start well: I was hoping to use the large screen family computer which has a dedicated video card; however said video card refused to work, so I attached my pen tablet to my smaller desktop – my mac wont recognise the tablet (one of the many glories of Linux is that it is so backwards compatible!) – but something dire went wrong (messed up driver I imagine) so I ended up attempting to draw with the various mice again. I also experimented with the touch pad on my laptop. A proper mac compatible tablet is probably the answer – more expense and no immediately obvious painting sales on the horizon!

EMBELLISHED POPRTRAIT - STUDY 1

EMBELLISHED PORTRAIT – STUDY 1

PORTRAIT EXPERIMENT 1

PORTRAIT EXPERIMENT 1

27/02/2013

I went with my father to hospital again; very kindly we were given a lift this time so I had time to do more computer art before I went and more computer writing when I returned. On the downside I only did one sketch book drawing during the rest of the day.

28/02/2013

I spent another full day again working on the various computers experimenting with my drawing programs (two desktops, a laptop and a tablet as it turned out!). I have done about forty or fifty works this week but only about thirty are even close to being satisfactory!

IMPROVISATION 1

IMPROVISATION 1

SELF PORTRAIT IN A GALLERY

SELF PORTRAIT IN A GALLERY

01/03/2013

I was out all morning and when I returned I decided to write for the rest of the day instead of working in my studio – this may mean I have only spent one day in my actual studio all week!

02/03/2013

I meant to start the drawing stage of some Wing works but never got round to getting the canvas boards in time – I never actually got round to a lot: a bit of work on the computers in the morning; out to dinner with my wife and then a bit of work on the computers again. At least there was some symmetry to the day!

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 2nd March

  1. yourothermotherhere says:

    I am so looking forward to how the sketches turn out – especially the sticker and stone ones.

    I look at that face and see a balance between angel and devil.

    I like “IMPROVISATION 1” as is, but I know you probably won’t leave it that way.

    Did you plan that your sweater looks like your work in “SELF PORTRAIT IN A GALLERY”?

    • Thank you. Gosh, I hope they turn out OK!

      I will have you know I was a little angel as a child (!)

      There will be others. Hopefully I can get a pen soon. The mouse is like parking a truck (not that I can park anything!).

      Ha ha, to be honest I can’t remember the last time I bought my own clothes, not for twenty years at least! It is either June or the family – plus I have to be inspected before I go out!

Leave a Reply

