Art Diary: Week Ending 27th April

21/04/2013

A traditional Sunday in the garden with some untraditional sunny weather. I was in the garden part of the day but came in relatively early to do a bit of work on the computers before we all went out for a meal.

22/04/2013

As planned I began painting in the images on ABSTRACT MARK WHICH REMINDS ME OF A MERMAID’S TAIL. I discarded my original plan of partially washing over some of the images and first put a wash on the sky only (to see what it looked like), then the ground (to see what that looked like!) and finally I started to paint all the images individually. Obviously far more time consuming but probably the only tenable option. I used relatively thin paint but certainly not glaze or wash consistency.

23/04/2013

A bit of a late start but I was eventually able to continue painting in the images on ABSTRACT MARK WHICH REMINDS ME OF A MERMAID’S TAIL and actually finishing the work in the late afternoon (this is the twenty fourth named work of the year – bearing in mid that some are sketch books or collections of drawings).

ABSTRACT MARK WHICH REMINDS ME OF A MERMAID’S TAIL

ABSTRACT MARK WHICH REMINDS ME OF A MERMAID’S TAIL

24/04/2013

Another late start – I am not sure if this is a consequence of middle age or a vastly increased domestic work load! I wasn’t sure initially what to do next but finally decided to paint one of the new Manfred Wing works entitled THE PICNIC. The original plan was to use oils over the earlier acrylic drawing and wash but I decided to continue with acrylic throughout.

25/04/2013

I spent all day working on the Manfred Wing work THE PICNIC – this is actually a bit of a fib as I didn’t get into my studio until midday as I had a million other things to do first (story of this week!).

26/04/2013

I was out all morning and when finally settled in my studio I completed painting the main stage of THE PICNIC (excluding the margin which I may or may not paint). The canvas is entirely covered but I will probably have to do some amending or even repainting before the work is finished.

THE PICNIC by MANFRED WING - work in progress

THE PICNIC by MANFRED WING – work in progress

27/04/2013

I spent most of the day in my study working on my computers – when not trailing after my wife in town carrying shopping bags!  However I did five minutes work tweaking THE PICNIC.

THE PICNIC by MANFRED WING - work in progress

THE PICNIC by MANFRED WING – work in progress

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

