Art Diary: Week Ending 4th May

28/04/2013

Very much a family day and my wife and I went out with the great grandchildren. I got into my study late in the afternoon totally exhausted and didn’t really do much.

29/04/2013

I started painting the images on the second of the current batch of “Wing Works” entitled THE DANCE. I still had a bit to do by the end of the day. As with the previous work I am using acrylic paint and also like the previous work listening to cricket commentary as I do so – I’m not sure this is such a good idea! I used to listen occasionally when the test matches were on but this year they are broadcasting the county matches too!

30/04/2013

I finished painting all the images on THE DANCE during the late afternoon but didn’t start another work. Incidentally I have been scanning a sketch book each morning this week. I have a nasty feeling that my old Mustek scanner which I recently threw out actually made a better job of scanning coloured pencil drawings that my large Canon although the latter does a far better job of reproducing every other type of image. With hindsight I so wish I had used coloured paper for my coloured pencil drawings – unfortunately they were more expensive but I simply don’t like the effect of pencil on cartridge paper.

THE DANCE - work in progress

THE DANCE – work in progress

01/05/2013

I spent a lot of the day painting HOMAGE TO PEOPLE WHO LIVE IN GUITARS, completing the main stage. This is a simpler work to the previous two although I may add further images in due course – although on the other hand I may not!

HOMAGE TO PEOPLE WHO LIVE IN GUITARS - work in progress

HOMAGE TO PEOPLE WHO LIVE IN GUITARS – work in progress

02/05/2013

My wife is off work today and after a morning of particularly onerous chores we went out to dinner. I only had time to work on the computers (the usual blogging etc.) when I got back.

03/05/2013

I only had a few hours to work today and started to paint THE MASK. I never quite finished the main stage and probably wont have time tomorrow. These four works are the first in Manfred Wing’s main style to be done in acrylic and I must admit I am warming to it. I have done a lot of GS works in acrylic, particularly in the Eighties, as it suits some aspects of his (my!) style.

THE MASK - work in progress

THE MASK – work in progress

04/05/2013

I spent practically all of the day writing and working on the computers. The rest of the holiday weekend will probably be spent in the garden (you never know in this household of course) but I wanted to catch up on work today.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

