Art Diary: Week Ending 18th May

12/05/2013

A totally domesticated day and my wife and I were with various members of the family the entire length of it.

13/05/2013

I had little time to paint today as I had to go out several times. I did however finish off both THE DANCE and HOMAGE TO PEOPLE WHO LIVE IN GUITARS.

MANFRED WING: THE DANCE

MANFRED WING: THE DANCE

MANFRED WING: HOMAGE TO PEOPLE WHO LIVE IN GUITARS

MANFRED WING: HOMAGE TO PEOPLE WHO LIVE IN GUITARS

14/05/2013

I was out all morning and in the afternoon I started (on almost a whim) to repaint some of the lines on one of the SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS variations. I also started to add symbols to the descending blocks in one as well as additional detailing.

15/05/2013

My wife was taken ill during the night and I didn’t spend as much time in my studio as planned. I repainted the lines on a second SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS painting plus some detailing – some of the detailing in this case was anarchic scumbling (for the want of a better word) using my paint rag. The only lines that are not redefined are the ones that will hold the words.

I also finished adding the symbols to the work I started yesterday.

16/05/2013

I added symbols and reinforced the lines on another SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS variation and also repainted most of the lines on the remaining one.

17/05/2013

I had to go to town for June to get medicine etc. and when I got back only spent about an hour painting (adding symbols to one of the SELF PORTRAIT IN A PINK DRESS works) before going into my study to write. This hasn’t been a very good week for creating art works! However I did make an exceedingly tentative start on another story – this one has been washing around in my head for years.

18/05/2013

I spent the day in the garden although I did do a bit of writing very late in the day. I am so behind with my potting and a multitude of other gardening jobs that I may well spend all of next week in the garden (I often do during the week of the Chelsea Flow Shower) so I am signing off as an artist for a little while.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 18th May

  1. Brian Hughes says:

    I keep saying the same thing about tidying the house up. The trouble is I’ve got way too much other stuff I’d rather be doing…such as sleeping mainly.

    • Tidying the house isn’t too high up on my priority list either. Sleeping sounds good, sadly I’m not very good at doing that at night let alone any other time – something to aspire to I suppose.

Leave a Reply

