My Non Art Diary: Week Ending 25th May

Well as I expected I didn’t do any really creative work all week (not even any writing!) and I spent the entire time in the garden – except when visiting, doing odd jobs and taking animals to the vets etc.! This is a Bank Holiday weekend in the UK so possibly nothing approaching normality – or what I call normality – until Tuesday or Wednesday.

 

Below are a handful of images of my gardening exploits (I consider gardening an art – although horticulture is a science).  I hope they are of some interest:

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Diary, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Non Art Diary: Week Ending 25th May

  1. Brian Hughes says:

    That’s a fair old sized greenhouse you’ve got there.

    • The biggest is 13×9 feet. It is second hand, the seller asked for £200 (1997) but me being me I gave them £300 as I thought they were doing themselves. I broke some of the glass moving it though and it is a bit Heath Robinson at the back. The second is 8×8 and the two smaller ones are 8×6 and 6×4. What I would like is something around 48×12 – we can all dream!

  2. cd1972 says:

    I like you greenhouse. You have some nice cactus there!

  3. waaw what a huge collection !!!!

    • It flatters to decieve (if that is the correct expression!) as some are duplicates. As I expect you have found some of the Crassulas and Sedums etc. get too large and leggy and need periodic repropagating; the problem is when I repropagate I don’t take one cutting I take 4 to 6!

      My cacti collection used to be twice as big until disaster struck a few years ago (exacerbated by neglect through pressure of work at the time). I can’t remember if I have mentioned it before (probably have as I do go on about it a lot!) but for ten/fifteen years I grew everything from seed and then I decided to get some small plants from the biggest nursery in the UK – unfortunately one of the plants had an insecticide resistant meally bug on it (only a couple and I didn’t even complain) which spread through my collection followed by a fungus or bacteria which eventually killed some of the plants. Anyway I decided to throw out a lot of the clustering types although I will probably get them again in the future. Funny enough the meally bug doesn’t effect the crassulaceae and other succulents – it only effects some of the tighter clustering mesembs such as Lithops and then not too bad.

      • Looks like your a succulent addict ! lol ! Sorry to hear about the mealy bug infestation, that must have been quite shocking ! ! Horrible creatures those mealy bugs !

      • Thank you. Yes the meally bugs I have are a real pain although on a positive note root meally bug is very easily controlled these days with vine weevil treatment. Succulents have been my favourite plants since bringing home cuttings from school. The natural history teacher sold them for 3 pence each (pre-decimalisation UK money).

      • I think I was still in kindergarten when I bought my first cactus with my pocket money, they have facinated me ever since.

      • That really is starting early! They are all fascinating but my favourites are the Crassula family.

Leave a Reply

