Art Diary: Week Ending 27th July

21/07/2013

I cleaned my study (although probably not as thoroughly as I should have done) which took all morning, save the few moments it took for me to amend OBSTRUCTION IN A LANDSCAPE. I was never happy how I had laid out the interacting symbols in the aforementioned obstruction. I went out after dinner and it was quite late in the afternoon again before I settled down in front of the computers to work.

22/07/2013

I added symbols and images to both THOUGHTS IN A LANDSCAPE and MEMORIES IN A LANDSCAPE. The former does not need any additional work so I consider it finished.

THOUGHTS IN A LANDSCAPE

THOUGHTS IN A LANDSCAPE

23/07/2013

I visited my father in the morning and was out with my wife in the afternoon, practically no art was done although I worked on the computers in the evening.

24/07/2013

I started and ended the art part of the day by cutting, preparing and priming six 16×24 inch hardboard panels. I really should use MDF but I like the feel of hardboard.

I then filled in the images in MEMORIES IN A LANDSCAPE which completed the work; the last of the eight A4 paintings.

MEMORIES IN A LANDSCAPE

MEMORIES IN A LANDSCAPE

I meant to use three 10×8 inch canvas boards I had purchased some time ago for a different style of landscape painting: without my usual preliminary lines and with a more spontaneous approach to the application of paint. However on the spur of the moment I decided to see if I could produce more serious and developmental works on such a small scale. I defined the main structures in pencil and the three works are entitled THEME AND DEVELOPMENT WRAPPED ROUND A LANDSCAPE, DEVELOPMENT FROM THE BULLET HITTING A BALL and INTERRUPTED DEVELOPMENT. The ideas for the pictures came into my head instantly; which is usually the case for my visual art but not necessarily for my writing.

25/07/2013

I went over the pencil lines with paint on the three small “Meditative Process Art” paintings (THEME AND DEVELOPMENT WRAPPED ROUND A LANDSCAPE, DEVELOPMENT FROM THE BULLET HITTING A BALL and INTERRUPTED DEVELOPMENT) and then put some preliminary marks on two of the six panels I primed on Wednesday. I used the edge of a pastel to make free flowing strands and then very crudely followed the edge of each strand with thin acrylic paint. This was a deliberate anti-art statement – I wish I knew why I have a tendency to do things like this as I will probably regret it later!

THEME AND DEVELOPMENT WRAPPED ROUND A LANDSCAPE - work in progress

THEME AND DEVELOPMENT WRAPPED ROUND A LANDSCAPE – work in progress

DEVELOPMENT FROM A BULLET HITTING A BALL - work in progress

DEVELOPMENT FROM A BULLET HITTING A BALL – work in progress

INTERRUPTED DEVELOPMENT - work in progress

INTERRUPTED DEVELOPMENT – work in progress

26/07/2013

I was out with my wife during the middle of the day. Before we went I did a bit of gardening and also went over the cadmium green pastel lines with acrylic medium on the two panels started yesterday – I remembered later that the two might not be compatible. The generic title for these and other works is SCRAMBLED STRANDS. I came home about mid afternoon and worked on the computers for the remainder of the day but I don’t think I got a huge amount of work done – I might be wrong.

Part of the SCRAMBLED STRANDS series

Part of the SCRAMBLED STRANDS series – work in progress

Part of the SCRAMBLED STRANDS series

Part of the SCRAMBLED STRANDS series – work in progress

27/07/2013

I added more strands using pencil to one of the SCRAMBLED STRANDS works before going out with a friend. When I got back I worked on the computers and pottered around. So ends another working week.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 27th July

  1. Brian Hughes says:

    I really must get back into painting again. I keep meaning to and then getting swept up in other stuff. Cats mainly.

    • Yes you must! I am glad someone else is into cats. We have got three, one of which was middle aged and ill when we took her on – because no one else wanted to and we were her last hope. The vast majority of our animals were either ill or unwanted when we took them on to be honest.

      • Brian Hughes says:

        We’ve got three and half now, all mature strays when they wandered in half-starved. Now they’re big, fat and order me around. Apart from the half – that one came from some kid in the street a few days ago whose mother was threatening to put it in a bag and drown it if he didn’t get rid of it by teatime. Now it’s causing chaos with the older cats, as kittens do.

      • You have got your work cut out then! At the moment we have three cats, one dog, one rabbit, one budgie, two turtles, two aquatic toads and an awful lot fish. One cat and the fish are non rescues. The rabbit and budgie have ongoing health problems so go to the vets about once a month for treatment and the dog and one cat need daily medication.

      • Brian Hughes says:

        We never seem to be out of the vets. One of the problems of taking in mature strays is that they bring with them all sorts of health problems. Poor old Bindi had to have all her teeth out. She’s gained tons of weight since though, so it was worth it. Next big expense is getting the kitten spayed. Tom’s an undone male, so we can’t leave it for long.

      • That is a big expense! We didn’t do two of ours as they never went out but one became seriously ill some time later with a womb infection and the other had polyps in the uterus (I think – I can’t quite remember now) so both had major ops which, needless to say, cost the earth.

Leave a Reply

