Art Diary: Week Ending 3rd August

28/07/2013

My plans for Sunday went awry when after finishing pet feeding and walking etc. I took the long walk to town to get pet food, got up to the counter with a heavily laden basket only to find that I had forgotten my wallet! This meant a long walk home followed by the walk to town and back again – except by then it had started to rain! As my wife and I were going out in the latter part of the afternoon I decided to an hour or two’s painting in my studio rather than work in the garden. I added structural blocks and strands to the remaining four panels in the “SCRAMBLED STRANDS” series. I used the same technique as the first two: namely forming the shapes with the side of a pastel and then going over this with acrylic medium.

29/07/2013

Because of the disruption of my multiple trips to town yesterday I had to catch up with all my plant watering this morning; consequently I was extremely late getting into my studio. I repainted the margin of one of the new “SCRAMBLED STRANDS” works to tidy it up and then decided to start painting the small but serious works that I started last Wednesday (THEME AND DEVELOPMENT WRAPPED ROUND A LANDSCAPE, DEVELOPMENT FROM THE BULLET HITTING A BALL and INTERRUPTED DEVELOPMENT). I added paint to all three but they need a lot more before the first stage is complete.

30/07/2013

I can’t believe I start work so late these days! It was almost noon when I got in my studio today. I did spend the rest of the day painting and completed the main stage of all three small “Meditative Process” paintings: THEME AND DEVELOPMENT WRAPPED ROUND A LANDSCAPE, DEVELOPMENT FROM THE BULLET HITTING A BALL and INTERRUPTED DEVELOPMENT.

THEME AND DEVELOPMENT WRAPPED ROUND A LANDSCAPE - work in progress

THEME AND DEVELOPMENT WRAPPED ROUND A LANDSCAPE – work in progress

DEVELOPMENT FROM THE BULLET HITTING A BALL - work in progress

DEVELOPMENT FROM THE BULLET HITTING A BALL – work in progress

INTERRUPTED DEVELOPMENT - work in progress

INTERRUPTED DEVELOPMENT – work in progress

 

31/07/2013

I worked on the “SCRAMBLED STRANDS” series on and off for much off the day. None have specific titles yet although they are developing their own identities (you can replace identities with parameters).

01/08/2013

I was out for the first part of the day, coming back to work on some of the “SCRAMBLED STRANDS” pictures. I made quite a number of additions : probably too many to note.

02/08/2013

Another late start in my studio as I worked on the computers first thing. I worked on the “SCRAMBLED STRANDS” series again – typically these have evolved beyond the original concept of rough and spontaneous but still formalised works (that is simple structures containing image sequences) to pictures where the structures are incorporated into a larger composition. The new works are provisionally titled as follows: SCRAMBLED STRANDS, INTRODUCING THE CHARACTERISATION STRAND CONCEPT, STRAND PAINTING WITH A QUESTION IN THE BACKGROUND, APOTHEOSIS OF A GRASSY BANK, IMPROVISATION FROM A BEANSTALK and PORTRAIT PLACED IN ANOTHER PAINTING. I blame listening to the cricket commentary for the change of concept!

SCRAMBLED STRANDS - work in progress

SCRAMBLED STRANDS – work in progress

INTRODUCING THE CHARACTERISATION STRAND CONCEPT - work in progress

INTRODUCING THE CHARACTERISATION STRAND CONCEPT – work in progress

STRAND PAINTING WITH A QUESTION IN THE BACKGROUND - work in progress

STRAND PAINTING WITH A QUESTION IN THE BACKGROUND – work in progress

APOTHEOSIS OF A GRASSY BANK - work in progress

APOTHEOSIS OF A GRASSY BANK – work in progress

IMPROVISATION FROM A BEANSTALK - work in progress

IMPROVISATION FROM A BEANSTALK – work in progress

PORTRAIT PLACED IN ANOTHER PAINTING - work in progress

PORTRAIT PLACED IN ANOTHER PAINTING – work in progress

I then went into my study and worked on the computers last thing.

03/08/2013

I started the day with the usual string of weekend jobs and then settled down in my study to write.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 3rd August

  1. Brian Hughes says:

    Sounds like a busy week. Most of mine was spent being eaten by a kitten.

Leave a Reply

