Art Diary: Week Ending 21st September

15/09/2013

I spent the morning in the garden (cleaning out the fish ponder filters!) and then came in when it started to rain to work on the computers the remainder of the day. I continued with my digital art experiments; in particular superimposing images of paintings on top of each other or placing small paintings within larger ones.

Homage To All Life

HOMAGE TO ALL LIFE

JUNE IN A LANDSCAPE

JUNE IN A LANDSCAPE

16/09/2013

I have finally finished adding the main painting layer to IMPROVISATION FROM A BEAN STALK!

IMPROVISATION FROM A BEAN STALK - work in progress

IMPROVISATION FROM A BEAN STALK – work in progress

After this I started to paint APOTHEOSIS OF A GRASSY BANK.

17/09/2013

I finished the press release for the forthcoming Ionist Art Group show and then went into my studio and completed the main stage of APOTHEOSIS OF A GRASSY BANK. I have three works remaining in this series and I have to work out the initiating images on each before further work can commence.

APOTHEOSIS OF A GRASSY BANK - work in progress

APOTHEOSIS OF A GRASSY BANK – work in progress

Before this I have to work on one or two new canvases for a possible show in December and a piece of envelope art for a show in October/November.

18/09/2013

I spent all day getting paintings ready for my forthcoming show. I was dismayed to find that some of my paintings had gone mouldy along one edge while in store – I will have to keep them off the ground in future.

19/09/2013

I had to go out for the morning, not getting back into my studio until the early afternoon. I finished off stringing my paintings (although there are three more to do in store) and then put a layer of white paint on the two large white canvases – I am to add dissecting straight lines tomorrow, into which I will eventually add symbols. They have the working titles of HOMAGE TO MOHENJO-DARO and REMEMBRANCE OF MY TIME IN THE INDUS VALLEY CIVILISATION.

20/09/2013

I spent most of the day getting work ready for the show the week after next. Apart from the usual work on the computer (and also the usual manic photographs!) nothing much else of a creative nature was done – especially as my wife and I went out for a meal in the middle of the day!

21/09/2013

I was out with my wife all day – took a handful of photographs and did a miniscule amount of writing and absolutely nothing else.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

