Art Diary: Week Ending 26th October

20/10/2013

Like previous Sundays I planned to spend the whole day in the garden, unfortunately, again like recent ones, it rained on and off all day. I spent an hour or so outside and then much longer working on the computers, mainly titling photographs I had taken over the last few months.

21/10/2013

I finished off a wad of writing first thing (it was pouring with rain outside) and then my wife and I had to take one the cats to the vets (again!). I came back with cat and shopping while she looked round town (again!!). Once settled in my studio I worked on one of the new pencil drawings for the rest of the afternoon.

22/10/2013

I was, more or less, able to work all day. I continued adding both structures (for symbols) and figurative images – as well as a combination of both – to some of the six new pencil on wood drawings.

23/10/2013

Back to the vets with one of our cats (Smudge) as it has been discovered that she has the early stages of kidney failure (and there is the danger that she might have something even more serious too). I worked on the new pencil drawing before and after the vet visit – concentrating as well as I could.

24/10/2013

Out in the morning, coming back quickly to take another cat to the vets. We took this cat (Tilly) on as an ill middle aged cat and now find out she has cancer as well – my wife and I are devastated as although we expected her to slowly deteriorate because of heart problems we never expected her to decline drastically like this.

Back to work on the pencil drawings when I got into my studio. I keep switching between works but I have passed half way on three of the, as yet untitled, pictures.

25/10/2013

Our very poorly cat, Tilly, hasn’t responded to the steroid treatment and I have spent much of the day stroking her. I have done a bit more work on the pencil drawings however.

26/10/2013

We had to have Tilly put to sleep as her condition deteriorated during the day. I am extremely upset and also angry that she had only two and a bit years with us and eight years living out of dustbins or with owners that didn’t deserve to have her!

In Memory Of Tilly - much loved and much missed!

In Memory Of Tilly – much loved and much missed!

I did a bit of writing and work on the computers but very little else.

And so ends the worst week for years!

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

