Art Diary: Week Ending 9th November

03/11/2013

I was out in the garden a large part of the day, coming in mid afternoon to work on the computers – a bit of writing and a bit of fiddling around (as is often the case on a Sunday!).

04/11/2013

I had odd jobs to do all morning and then a few minutes drawing before getting on the computers and catching up on my writing. Not a particularly good day for visual art!

05/11/2013

I worked off and on all day in my studio; still tackling the large scale pencil drawings. I had to go out during the latter part of the afternoon not quite happy with some of the images I had drawn so I will have to redo them in the morning.

06/11/2013

Most of the day was spent in my studio working on the new drawings; often moving between one and another. Strangely for me none of the works are titled yet (although I think a couple had titles when I started them!) other than having a generic one of EXPLORATION – as distinct from INVENTION and IMPROVISATION which I have used for series of similar works in the past.

07/11/2013

I visited my father in the early morning and then went out with my wife for much of the remaining day. Not much creative work done except a bit of photography (with my new DSLR camera) and a really tiny amount of writing. And, it goes without saying, the usual evening blogging.

08/11/2013

It rained all day so I had to put off the planned early morning gardening and stayed in my studio until the light began to fade at four. I completed one of the six complex “meditative” drawings which I have titled EXPLORATION: WHAT HAPPENS WHEN X AND Y ARE MERGED. This is the work I am least happy with so it is a bit ironic that it was the first to be finished.

EXPLORATION: WHAT HAPPENS WHEN X AND Y ARE MERGED

EXPLORATION: WHAT HAPPENS WHEN X AND Y ARE MERGED

09/11/2013

No visual art or writing done at all this Saturday (with the exception of what I am writing now!). I did a bit of gardening first thing, went out for a meal with my wife and then returned to the garden. I finally came in during the latter part of the afternoon and then fiddled around on the computers instead of doing anything worthwhile – oh well! Actually I did take a couple of dozen photographs while walking to town so not all is lost!

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 9th November

  1. have you tried turning the drawing so that what now is at the left will come on top and what is on the right will be the bottom ? it’s what I learned in art class, you probably too ofcourse but it looks good to me then

Leave a Reply

