Art Diary: The Last Days Of 2013

29/12/2013

Another slow day: I went out after an unhurried breakfast, coming back in the early afternoon to do five minutes gardening, half an hour of drawing and then eventually writing and/or painting on the computers – ending the day with my usual blogging. The drawing was the main structures (in charcoal) for the two works on old planks. They have the working titles of TREE HEAD and PORTRAIT BEING SPLIT IN TWO.

TREE HEAD - work in progress

TREE HEAD – work in progress

PORTRAIT BEING SPLIT IN TWO - work in progress

PORTRAIT BEING SPLIT IN TWO – work in progress

30/12/2013

Yet another very wet and windy day; too wet to get out to water the plants in the greenhouses and too dark to work in my studio. Consequently I painted on the computer on and off for much of the time. However I intend to work mainly in my studio next year.

31/12/2013

I had to go out (in the pouring rain), coming back (very wet – not that I want to harp on about it!) with time only to work on the computers; although I feel my digital drawing/painting and technology orientated mixed media or multidisciplinary work is relevant and justified now – providing I continue to explore and expand my work with conventional media.

And so ends another year. During 2013 I have began to embrace digital creativity, my literary activities have widened and all of my alter egos have now got completely separate creative identities and careers. I have also done quite a bit of traditional painting – or painting using traditional media to be exact as I would rarely associate the word traditional with any aspect of my creative activities.

Next year, apart from the forlorn wish of promoting myself better and increasing my contacts and exhibition opportunities, I want to expand further the range of media I use in my art (including video and associated technologies), write even more and belatedly return to some of my Nineties group projects.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

