Art Diary: Week Ending 18th January

12/01/2014

A typical Sunday with a bit of gardening in the morning (not nearly enough however – although I am getting my enthusiasm back for all things botanical), out with my wife for dinner and then working on the computers for the remainder of the day.

13/01/2014

Not an especially creative day, most of which was spent working on blogs and web sites on the computer – plus a bit of paper work and odd jobs in the house and garden.

14/01/2014

I finished off painting in the main structures on PERFORMANCE PIECE FOR SIX PEOPLE I FIRST MET IN A DREAM. There was absolutely no preplanning and I used quite a crude technique with a larger brush than normal. The composition evolved incorporating amendments and changes of mind – although it has to be remembered that I do not use anything like a conventional pictorial composition but rather an array of interacting linear sequences.

PERFORMANCE PIECE FOR SIX PEOPLE I FIRST MET IN A DREAM - work in progress

PERFORMANCE PIECE FOR SIX PEOPLE I FIRST MET IN A DREAM – work in progress

After this I painted and constructed art works on the computers.

15/01/2014

I added all the images (shapes and symbols derived from the human body) to PORTRAIT BEING SPLIT IN TWO using oil paint straight from the tube. I hope to paint them in later on in the week.

PORTRAIT BEING SPLIT IN TWO - work in progress

PORTRAIT BEING SPLIT IN TWO – work in progress

After this I returned to creating art on the computers.

16/01/2014

I was out in the morning. On my return I added images to the central section of TREE HEAD. These were a mix of semi-figurative and diagrammatical symbols – the former were based on an image of a figure standing before a totem like structure (at one point I was going to make it look like a stained glass window which would be my representation of nature).

I decided not to add images to the background bands on TREE HEAD but instead moved onto to digital painting on the computers. Perversely I plan to put facial feature variations in the bands rather than in the potential head section.

I also started another photographic project using yet another group of pre dawn photographs. This project has the title of METAPHYSICAL QUESTIONS and I am working on a second (which was actually the first – a bit like Beethoven’s piano concertos!) called TALES FROM THE ODYSSEY. These sets are distinct from the computer art works derived from similar photos.

IS THIS WHAT HEAVEN IS LIKE - WHOLE LIVES REDUCED TO STRANDS OF LIGHT

IS THIS WHAT HEAVEN IS LIKE – WHOLE LIVES REDUCED TO STRANDS OF LIGHT

SONG OF THE SIRENS (IN DOLBY SOUND)

SONG OF THE SIRENS (IN DOLBY SOUND)

17/01/2014

I drew in shapes derived from facial features in the mauve banding on TREE HEAD and then painted in all the images on PORTRAIT BEING SPLIT IN TWO, finishing this work. As I have got paint to use up I may try to finish TREE HEAD on Sunday and garden on Monday – we shall see.

TREE HEAD - work in progess

TREE HEAD – work in progress

PORTRAIT BEING SPLIT IN TWO

PORTRAIT BEING SPLIT IN TWO

After this I painted and wrote on the computers and then ended the day with my daily blogging – of which I probably do too much

18/01/2014

Another wet Saturday. I spent most of it writing (although I was tempted to work in my studio finishing off a painting) with an interruption in the middle of the day when my wife and I went out for drink.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

