Art Diary: Week Ending 25th January

19/01/2014

My wife and I went out for a family meal. Either side of this I spent the time making radical changes to my blogs, internet and artistic identity. I have decided to phase out many of my blogs and social media sites; some immediately and others over a more protracted time scale. Even more dramatic, I have decided to eliminate all of my art and literary pseudonyms (I feel like a mass murderer!) to make a more easily managed internet and promotional presence and to add a bit of clarity to my creative life. This is a major step as I have had one for almost forty years and another got more internet exposure than I did! There were eight of us all together – initially four but my alter egos wanted alter egos of their own!

One worry is I used some of my pseudo-artists to cover types of art I didn’t really want Gerald Shepherd associated with; this may mean there are interesting times ahead.

20/01/2014

I had to finish my weekly writing before I did anything else this morning. I then had about a thousand odd jobs to do – actually six! After this and walking my wife down to town I had little time to work in my studio. I started to paint in the images on TREE HEAD but didn’t get very far before moving onto the computers to work. I have a busy day tomorrow but I hope to finish the painting then.

21/01/2014

I had to take the rabbit to the vets and then myself to the medical centre so I was late getting into my studio again. Once there I painted in all the central images on TREE HEAD which completed the work.

TREE HEAD

TREE HEAD

I then painted in rough structures on an old oil palette (it was actually a thin sheet of perspex which I use for palettes – although I use commercial palettes sometimes as well). The original paint layer was quite thick but I still used the paint straight from the tube – I actually had the choice of either side. I will add simple symbols tomorrow. The piece has the working title of DREAMS OF DEAD PEOPLE – very melodramatic I know!

After this I painted and manipulated photographs on the computer – plus a bit of writing.

22/01/2014

Not too bad a day. I spent quite a long time in my studio before moving on to painting on the computers. In my studio I first painted in very simple symbols into the structures on DREAMS OF DEAD PEOPLE – however I didn’t like the end result and I left the picture to dry for possible repainting.

DREAMS OF DEAD PEOPLE - work in progress

DREAMS OF DEAD PEOPLE – work in progress

After this I added figurative imagery to the smallest two of the six new acrylic paintings on canvas which I started some time ago. Both pictures have roughly painted in symbols and shapes and I added the figurative images to the shapes. The plan was to paint in smaller symbols around the larger ones but I may now develop the figurative areas instead

 IMG-20140122-00948

IMG-20140122-00950

23/01/2014

I was out in the morning and on my return I painted on the computer for most of the remainder of the day. A rather short sentence but I actually did quite a bit of work.

24/01/2014

On the spur of the moment I looked again at three pictures I started at the end of 2011 (I think) and which had reached the rough pencil stage. All three were based on photos: two of landscapes taken with a smart phone and the other was a picture of a painting on an easel with my feet pressed up against it. As I have now got an adequate drawing tablet connected to the computer I have actually done a lot of amended photographs (figures into landscapes etc.) and I felt the last named work was probably now redundant – I did a couple of versions on the computer to perhaps illustrate this fact. I rubbed much of the pencil out and very quickly redrew a new picture with the working title of RAINBOW BRIDGE (A SEQUENCE OF IMAGES RUNNING FROM BIRTH TO DEATH). I then painted over the pencil lines with thin acrylic paint.

LANDSCAPE STUDY - THE BEGINNING OF A BRIDGE

LANDSCAPE STUDY – THE BEGINNING OF A BRIDGE

RAINBOW BRIDGE (A SEQUENCE OF IMAGES RUNNING FROM BIRTH TO DEATH) - work in progress

RAINBOW BRIDGE (A SEQUENCE OF IMAGES RUNNING FROM BIRTH TO DEATH) – work in progress

My usual blogging in the evening – except that it is no longer usual as I have started a number of new blogs (even though I didn’t plan to) to replace some of my old pseudonyms.

25/01/2014

My wife and I went out in the morning and then again in the evening. In between I finished off my weekly writing and did sundry other jobs on the computers.

The first week with me being one person instead of eight went reasonably well although there are a lot of web sites and blogs now permanently in limbo.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

