Art Diary: Week Ending 1st February

26/01/2014

I couldn’t really do any gardening so I spent the day adding images of my art work to online galleries. I belong to a vast number but many only have a handful of my works on them or even no works at all. It is quite a tedious process, especially as each site has a slightly different procedure that has to be followed.

27/01/2014

A few typical domestic disruptions but I spent much of the day painting: working on RAINBOW BRIDGE (A SEQUENCE OF IMAGES RUNNING FROM BIRTH TO DEATH).

28/01/2014

I worked a large part of the day in my studio. I finished the main painting stage of RAINBOW BRIDGE (A SEQUENCE OF IMAGES RUNNING FROM BIRTH TO DEATH) – the title of which I will have to change – and then started to tidy up the lines; however I never finished as the light was fading and I decided to move to the next room and work on the computers.

29/01/2014

I had to collect my work from the Hundred Years Gallery (many thanks again to them for hosting it and to Jill Rock for organising the event and inviting me to participate – this was much appreciated! Invitations used to happen regularly and now hardly at all which illustrates how far my contact list has diminished).

It wasn’t actually a brilliant day; I was unusually travel sick, it poured with rain all day and one of the connecting tube stations wasn’t open to my line because of escalator repairs – necessitating a walk in the aforementioned heavy rain!

The South Bank in the rain.

The South Bank in the rain.

30/01/2014

I was out in the morning (in a bitterly cold day) and worked on the computers on my return. All being well I will get back into my studio tomorrow.

31/01/2014

I partially repainted the lines on RAINBOW BRIDGE (A SEQUENCE OF IMAGES RUNNING FROM BIRTH TO DEATH) which completed the work. I then fiddled around on the computers – not actually being that creative or productive.

RAINBOW BRIDGE (A SEQUENCE OF IMAGES RUNNING FROM BIRTH TO DEATH)

RAINBOW BRIDGE (A SEQUENCE OF IMAGES RUNNING FROM BIRTH TO DEATH)

01/02/2014

I went out with my wife in the middle of the day; either side of this I went over the pencil lines with oil paint on a work I titled (some time ago!) TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE. I used the original lies as a template and effectively abstracted the original image.

TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE - work in progress

TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE – work in progress

I can’t believe it is February already! I am not sure if I have been massively productive: I have completed hundreds of digital art works and probably more photographs (although most wont be used) although I have only finished four easel works.

I have, of course, also murdered all my alter egos forcing major changes in my online presence – I hope the repercussions from this end up being positive! There are still traces of the old pseudo-mes about but they are disappearing fast.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

