Art Diary: Week Ending 8th February

02/02/2014

Yet again it was too wet to work in the garden so I had another Sunday working on the computers.

03/02/2014

I had odd (in some cases very odd!) jobs to do, then a bit of work on the computers before walking the dog. Once in my studio I repainted the lines on the left side of THE CUTTING – TWO PEOPLE ON A TRAIN using oil paint. The left side (i.e. outside the train) will be an acrylic wash. I started painting in some of the shapes but didn’t get very far before packing in and working on the computers again.

04/02/2014

I finished painting the oil paint section of THE CUTTING – TWO PEOPLE ON A TRAIN. I then started to paint TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE but managed to interrupt myself badly by having to go to town twice.

05/02/2014

My wife and I planned to go out today but the weather was far too bad. I divided my time between studio and study.

06/02/2014

I was out most of the morning and then painted in my studio for much of the afternoon. I continued painting TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE; not quite finishing it by the time I had to walk the dog and do all the other animal related afternoon jobs. I then worked on the computers for the remainder of the day.

07/02/2014

I finished the main painting stage of TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE and then went out for a drink with a friend who will be shortly returning to China for another six months.

TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE - work in progress

TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE – work in progress

After this I worked on the computers; fleshing out a new web site without having any definite plans of uploading it. It took longer than hoped as my venerable Mac went down without saving it – the moral being save it a bit at a time which annoyingly is what I usually do. I thought I would do the site on the now defunct i-web as I have made previous sites with the software. My current main site was made with Netscape Composer and then Sea Monkey although a friend constructed my very first web site using just HTML in 1999.

08/02/2014

The usual weekend odd jobs and then on the spur of the moment my wife and I went out for a meal. I wrote on my return but I managed to distract myself too easily. I also did more work on the web site in waiting.

I am not sure how this has happened but I cut down the number of blogs I do but have ended up doing more. I will have to muddle though but some are going to get neglected.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 8th February

  1. acharif says:

    Thanks for sharing, i wish you would link directly to the paintings when you mention them though, so we could click them directly…

    just a suggestion 🙂

    • Thank you very much! I will look into it – some of the pictures are unfinished of course and some of the works I mention in passing I may not have photographed but I will see what I can do. Thanks again for your interest.

      • acharif says:

        Thank you for replying! I understand, i was just very curious reading some of the names really felt like seeing them.

        whatever you can do would be great… 🙂

Leave a comment