Art Diary: Week Ending 15th February

09/02/2014

I finally managed to spend a significant part of the day in the garden; coming in, possibly prematurely, during the middle of the afternoon (I reckon I am out of condition) to continue my writing.

10/02/2014

I had to go out first thing in the morning and then painted the rest of the day. I repainted many of the lines on TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE and then did likewise on THE CUTTING – TWO PEOPLE ON A TRAIN. I then painted on the computers.

TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE - work in progress

TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE – work in progress

 

11/02/2014

I went out with my wife; had an unplanned meal and, equally unplanned, bought some very cheap canvases and canvas boards. On my return I painted in the images on both of the small acrylic canvases I started earlier in the year. Both pictures had the original working title of SMALL IMAGES AMONG LARGE ONES although this may change when I decide how to complete them: i.e. whether I actually add small images or not!

SMALL IMAGES AMONG LARGE ONES - work in progress

SMALL IMAGES AMONG LARGE ONES – work in progress

SMALL IMAGES AMONG LARGE ONES - work in progress

SMALL IMAGES AMONG LARGE ONES – work in progress

12/02/2014

The weather was atrocious again – although my wife went out for a meal with a friend, spent approximately four hours in the restaurant and entirely missed the worst of it! I did the acrylic side of THE CUTTING – TWO PEOPLE ON A TRAIN using very thin paint.

I then added extra detailing to TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE before working on the computers for the remainder of the day.

 

13/02/2014

I was out in the morning and then painted for much of the afternoon. I painted in the margins of TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE and THE CUTTING – TWO PEOPLE ON A TRAIN and then started to draw in the preliminary lines (using student quality oil paint – its runnier!) on the five canvases I purchased on Tuesday. The pictures have the working titles of: LANDSCAPE VIEWED FROM A TRIPLE DECKER BUS: AN EXPERIMENTAL PLOUGHED FIELD, SIDBURY HILL FROM THE BACK, LANDSCAPE VIEWED THROUGH A STRING VEST, HOW MY MIND ESCAPES (A GAP IN BUILDINGS) and THE DISUSED RAILWAY CUTTING.

TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE - work in progress

TWO VERSIONS OF THE ARTIST IN A TREE – work in progress

THE CUTTING - TWO PEOPLE ON A TRAIN - work in progress

THE CUTTING – TWO PEOPLE ON A TRAIN – work in progress

 

14/02/2014

The weather is supposed to be extremely bad again tonight so I had to do a bit of initial checking of the garden. I then divided my time between studio and study for the rest of the day. In the former I worked on the five new canvases, adding further lines, while in the latter I uploaded a large number of art works to my newly rearranged Picasa galleries – among others.

LANDSCAPE VIEWED FROM A TRIPLE DECKER BUS: AN EXPERIMENTAL PLOUGHED FIELD - work in progress

LANDSCAPE VIEWED FROM A TRIPLE DECKER BUS: AN EXPERIMENTAL PLOUGHED FIELD – work in progress

SIDBURY HILL FROM THE BACK - work in progess

SIDBURY HILL FROM THE BACK – work in progress

LANDSCAPE VIEWED THROUGH A STRING VEST - work in progress

LANDSCAPE VIEWED THROUGH A STRING VEST – work in progress

HOW MY MIND ESCAPES (A GAP IN BUILDINGS) - work in progress

HOW MY MIND ESCAPES (A GAP IN BUILDINGS) – work in progress

THE DISUSED RAILWAY CUTTING - work in progress

THE DISUSED RAILWAY CUTTING – work in progress

 

15/02/2014

I went out for a meal with my wife in the morning. The afternoon was spent working on the computer but alas on mundane website and blog management tasks rather than writing, although I did a lot of digital art work in the evening.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

