Art Diary: Week Ending 1st March

23/02/2014

Despite being a little drizzly I spent all morning in the garden, coming in some when in the afternoon feeling whacked – I really need to get into condition! I spent the remainder of the day writing, painting and blogging on the computers.

24/02/2014

After the usual Monday morning odd jobs I worked in my studio for a fair bit of the day. I completed the main painting stage of LANDSCAPE VIEWED THROUGH A STRING VEST and a tiny bit more on HOW MY MIND ESCAPES (A GAP IN BUILDINGS) before moving on to paint on the computers in my study.

LANDSCAPE VIEWED THROUGH A STRING VEST - work in progress

LANDSCAPE VIEWED THROUGH A STRING VEST – work in progress

25/02/2014

My wife and I had to go to the vets with Smudge (one of our cats) again so it was a rather disrupted day. I completed the main painting stage HOW MY MIND ESCAPES (A GAP IN BUILDINGS) but very little else in my studio – although I did do some digital art work on the computers. Plus the usual writing and blogging in the evening.

HOW MY MIND ESCAPES (A GAP IN BUILDINGS) - work in progress

HOW MY MIND ESCAPES (A GAP IN BUILDINGS) – work in progress

26/02/2014

A morning cleaning the turtle tank and then on the spur of the moment my wife and I went out for the remainder of the day. No painting done at all although I did take a large number of smart phone photographs. I haven’t really used my DSLR much at all yet and because I tend to take odd angles and positions I feel I would be better off with a bridge camera so that I can still see the image in the rear screen.

27/02/2014

I was out in the morning. In the afternoon I went over the yellow ochre and around the symbols on THE DREAMS OF DEAD PEOPLE with white paint. The picture looks better and probably can’t be amended further so is now finished. I may not do any other pictures on old perspex palettes as the thick and dried paint is difficult to paint over.

DREAMS OF DEAD PEOPLE

DREAMS OF DEAD PEOPLE

I had time to add symbols in pencil to one of the versions of SMALL IMAGES AROUND LARGER ONES. I will paint over these with acrylic medium tomorrow to see what effect I get. I suspect the images will smudge a bit as the paint film was dry and abrasive and held a lot of the pencil.

28/02/2014

A cold and wet day. I had to go to town and then stayed in my studio until the latter part of the afternoon. I put medium over the pencil lines on one of the SMALL IMAGES AROUND LARGER ONES pictures; as I half expected the lines smudged a little and I repainted some of them. I also added a little more detailing which completed this work.

SMALL IMAGES AROUND LARGER ONES 1

SMALL IMAGES AROUND LARGER ONES 1

After this I painted in rudimentary symbols on the the second SMALL IMAGES AROUND LARGER ONES, didn’t like the effect so partly repainted this. I then added another set in a different colour before adding more, plus a number of pencil lines and other details – this completed the work.

SMALL IMAGES AROUND LARGER ONES 2

SMALL IMAGES AROUND LARGER ONES 2

01/03/2014

I went out for the morning with my wife, and then came home to write and paint on the computer before the two of us went out again in the evening.

After mulling it over for days I have decided to get a bridge camera to supplement my DSLR and compact. Knowing me I will probably still take most of my photographs on a Blackberry – I seem to have amassed a collection of the latter (well three) although the camera wont work on the oldest.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

