Art Diary: Week Ending 8th March

02/03/2014

Sunday and yet another wet day. I managed an hour or two of gardening and then came in to work on the computers – unusually I wasn’t very productive (a bit frustrating this!).

03/03/2014

I painted the lines of the string vest and then went over many of the other lines in LANDSCAPE VIEWED THROUGH A STRING VEST. I then decided to tidy up or partially repaint the lines on the other four canvases; this took the remainder of the daylight part of the day. After which I worked on the computers.

LANDSCAPE VIEWED THROUGH A STRING VEST - work in progress

LANDSCAPE VIEWED THROUGH A STRING VEST – work in progress

The new bridge camera arrived. It is much smaller than the DSLR but with a huge screen at the back which is ideal.

04/03/2014

My wife had a full day of voluntary work and I had to take the rabbit to and from the vets so today was rather disrupted. I had earlier in the year purchased a dozen cheap, and very skew whiff (!), small canvas boards and today I did the initial drawing stage on four using student quality oils straight from the tube. The works are in two sets of two and have the working title of FRAGMENTS FROM A LIFE and are fairy typical “strand in an environment” formats.

IMG-20140307-02219

IMG-20140307-02222

IMG-20140307-02237

IMG-20140307-02245

05/03/2014

We have a very poorly cat at the moment. She has chronic kidney failure but had been fairly stable until just over a week ago when she had some kind of event which left her a bit wobbly on her back legs for a couple of days (the vet didn’t know why) and since then she hasn’t been herself and didn’t want to eat or play – although her normal grace and agility has returned. I have finally managed to get her eating reasonably well again but she is decidedly not herself. Obviously this is impacting on work time as I have to prepare food and spend time with her. That said I did the drawing stage of a further four FRAGMENTS FROM A LIFE today, again in roughly two sets.

IMG-20140307-02242

IMG-20140307-02234

IMG-20140307-02238

IMG-20140307-02232

06/03/2014

I was out in the morning and on my return did the drawing stage of the last four FRAGMENTS FROM A LIFE pieces. Yet again they are very loosely in two sets of two (in terms of structures and composition).

IMG-20140307-02225

IMG-20140307-02227

IMG-20140307-02228

IMG-20140307-02230

07/03/2014

A bit of a late start – I am not sure why. I added some extra details to a couple of the FRAGMENTS FROM A LIFE drawings and then because I did not want to move to another work at the end of the week I did a small painting on a eighteen inch plastic ruler. It had been well used for over thirty years and the dividing marks were practically worn off. I painted a series of simple symbols, some of which interacted with some accidental paint marks already on the ruler.

After this I worked on the computer, writing, drawings and uploading images.

08/03/2014

I had to do some work in the garden in the morning and then went out with my wife

I forgot to mention a couple of weeks ago that I have found out an unfinished very early work to look at and eventually complete. It is a horizontally striped black and white panel with a mirror attached at the top and a vertically striped coloured panel attached beneath. I can’t remember what the original working title was – as I stated it in 1977 this is not surprising!

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Painting, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

