Art Diary: Week Ending 22nd March

16/03/2014

Another day in the garden, although there was a bit more of general pottering today. Nothing much of a creative nature save some photography during a short trip out.

.

17/03/2014

Out yet again to the vet in the morning and then the rest of the day was spent on the computers, finally catching up with writing etc..

.

18/03/2014

Once I had got about a million odd jobs done I worked in my studio until the latter part of the afternoon. I added symbols to THE RAILWAY CUTTING in a very improvisational way. If I had used less imagination the end result would have been more pleasing but there you go.

I then worked on the computers, naming photographs etc. for much of the remaining part of the day.

.

19/03/2014

I was late getting into my studio (typical these days) but once there added all the symbols to the space immediately surrounding the trees on LANDSCAPE VIEWED THROUGH A STRING VEST. I had planned to leave all the other string vest squares blank but in the end decided to paint a circle in each – I will probably have to fill them in with colour rather than leave them as empty shapes. All this may prove to be a mistake!

After this I worked on the computers. One of my projects for the day was setting up a WordPress blog to present my father’s photographs. This will now mean a lot of scanning of prints and cleaning/editing of photos I have already done. It is a long term project so nothing needs to be rushed.

.

20/03/2014

I was out in the morning but worked in my studio for a good part of the afternoon. I painted in all the symbols on THE RAILWAY CUTTING finishing the work – although I will look again tomorrow to see if any tidying up is needed.

The Railway Cutting

THE RAILWAY CUTTING

I also painted in the secondary shapes on LANDSCAPE VIEWED THROUGH A STRING VEST; however the final result didn’t match the idea in my head so I painted some shapes out and modified others in a number of different ways. The actual symbols in the central area I didn’t actually have any intention of painting. After all the modifications I considered the work finished although I will look again tomorrow – probably in the afternoon as I have to clean the turtle tank in the morning.

Landscape Viewed Through A String Vest

LANDSCAPE VIEWED THROUGH A STRING VEST

After this and a lot of fussing of our poorly cat it was approaching four so I moved onto the computers.

.

21/03/2014

The turtle tank cleaning took all morning and I never looked again at the works completed yesterday. I added detailing to SIDBURY HILL FROM THE OTHER SIDE but then moved onto the computers to paint – like last week I had meant to write but got too readily distracted.

.

22/03/2014

My wife and I went out for a family meal around midday after which I came back to write; although yet again I didn’t get on as well as I hoped.

 

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Diary, Painting, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

