A Much Earlier Weekly Diary

16/03/2007

A better day, as wings sprouted from under my jacket and I was able to preen my feathers from one of the tall conifers behind the flour mill. The small birds in my head fluttered industriously but I wondered if I should have followed their migration routes more diligently.

17/03/2007

I was out in my past in the morning. I was Jack and climbed up the beanstalk, through the clouds, to the land where all the curtains have tears in them. I came home in a chariot pulled by swans. The afternoon was spent in green-fingered bliss.

18/03/2007

Another day in the garden. I felt tired in the morning and spent some time curled up in a blackbird’s nest. In the afternoon I felt better and marched plants around the parade ground. At the end of the day, flowers were cast at the feet of the magazine person when I finally went along the path to the retirement home.

19/03/2007

This was the first day of my magic week. You can guarantee it will go too quickly. I made a number of resolutions (which I must keep) while following the calligraphic path of the Sleep Angel. I perfected the art of levitation and ascended through the sewers in the sky – “come with me sky birds” – I was heard to say.

20/03/2007

The wind was extremely cold today – as you read this, the cheese wire cuts through the mature cheddar in the shape of an early Celtic god. I kept indoors as much as possible, wearing my sorcerers hat. The few occasions I did venture out I donned a lion outfit. I saluted the zoos in the large jars in the old fashioned sweet shop.

21/03/2007

A blissful Friday, playing among the coloured spider webs that stretch from one corner of the house to the other. Whenever I touched a strand, church music played – in a dream I walked naked down the aisle while the choir sang. I pulled several lengths of spaghetti from my head and knitted a jumper.

22/03/2007

It snowed this morning, while I travelled to the land of daisy seeds. While watching the midget soldiers march by I hoped for a rope to descend through a hole in the ceiling – it didn’t! I need to make the jigsaw pieces fit together in a different way but I haven’t got the tools to make this happen. I had a crust of bread for breakfast.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Diary, Poetry, prose, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

