Art Diary: Week Ending 5th April

 30/03/2014

I had to go out in the late afternoon so I decided to spend all the preceding part of the day in the garden – in my greenhouses to be exact. No creative work at all save for making up stories for children in the evening.

31/03/2014

I had to catch up with my writing so from late morning onwards I spent most of my time on the computers. Nothing much else was done.

01/04/2014

I was in my studio, off and on, a large part of the day. I added all the symbols to the structures on SIDBURY HILL FROM THE BACK – some of these will have to filled in with colour and I want to add background patterning and possibly other detailing. That will have to wait to Thursday as I am out all day tomorrow.

02/04/2014

I had to go to London again to collect more paintings so nothing much done other than a handful of photographs.

My trip coincided with a warning of high levels of air pollution but I think it was probably worse in Andover, although possibly more visible in London.

03/04/2014

I was out in the morning and then spent some time sorting out paintings. Ideally I would like a larger and separate studio so I can explore new ideas using a range of out of the ordinary materials (actually not so new as I would be returning to my artistic approach of the late Seventies – not surprisingly most of these early works are no longer extant).

After this I completed SIDBURY HILL FROM BEHIND (ORIGINALLY CALLED SIDBURY HILL FROM THE BACK) by adding the final detailing and painting in the simple symbol sequences.

SIDBURY HILL FROM BEHIND (ORIGINALLY CALLED SIDBURY HILL FROM THE BACK)

SIDBURY HILL FROM BEHIND (ORIGINALLY CALLED SIDBURY HILL FROM THE BACK)

04/04/2014

After a late start I very slightly repainted a number of works which had got damaged in store. This only took an hour and as I didn’t want to start any new works this late in the week I moved from my studio to my study just after two to paint and write on the computers.

I may garden tomorrow as Sunday looks like it will be wet.

05/04/2014

A bit of a dreary day and I spent a lot of it in front of the computer (with a sandwich filling of weekend odd jobs): mainly painting and editing photographs.

 

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Diary, Painting, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

