Art Diary: Week Ending 5th July

 

29/06/2014

I spent quite a lot of the day in the garden although despite the English summer weather I didn’t really enjoy the day as I am still worried about our dog. I didn’t do a great deal of creative work either – did some though!

.

30/06/2014

We found another lump on our dog so had to take her to the vets again, however this one was benign. The vets are reasonably upbeat about completely removing the first lump although we are still preparing ourselves for possible weeks of chemotherapy etc.. I did a bit more gardening early in the day which didn’t leave a lot of time for painting on the computers although a number of works were completed. I have postponed my planned return to painting in my studio until next week because of all the potential disruptions of this week.

The Secret Garden

The Secret Garden

The Overhanging Branch - When I Look Up There Is Always Something In The Way!

The Overhanging Branch – When I Look Up There Is Always Something In The Way!

.

01/07/2014

A quick trip to town, then a few moments working in the garden (potting plants) and then into my study to write and paint on the computers. I didn’t get quite as much done as I expected although I have learnt a number of new techniques. I am hoping the new month will be a luckier one for us!

Landscape Where I Saw Sound As Colour

Landscape Where I Saw Sound As Colour

.

02/07/2014

After going out briefly with my wife followed by a little bit of gardening I worked on the computers for most of the day. Much of my digital art begins with an quick photograph which is continually painted over so that the last work in the series has no evidence of the original image left – sometimes the works do form a coherent series but more often I just follow my imagination in a multitude of different directions. The initiating photograph is most often a landscape, spontaneous smartphone shot or self portrait.

After The Battle

After The Battle

Focusing On Flowers

Focusing On Flowers

My Wife And I Having A Meal In Memory And Celebration Of Our Little Cat Smudge

My Wife And I Having A Meal In Memory And Celebration Of Our Little Cat Smudge

.

03/07/2014

I was out all morning and worked on the computers in the afternoon. My digital art varies from simple quick paintings or modified photographs to much more detailed and considered multilayered pieces. With the latter it is ironic that the more adept I get (and I have a very long way to go) the more exacting and time consuming the actual work is.

Young Girl With Orange Necklace

Young Girl With Orange Necklace

Me Fighting With Myself - And I Still Lost!

Me Fighting With Myself – And I Still Lost!

.

04/07/2014

Our dog’s operation was planned today but after all the usual pre-op procedures (fasting etc.) on arrival at the surgery the operating vet decided a biopsy was needed first as the lump looked to her like a soft tissue sarcoma – which has good and bad implications. Anyway I got home sooner than anticipated and spent much of the remainder of the day working on the computers: photograph editing and painting.

The Battle Between Green And Red

The Battle Between Green And Red

.

05/07/2014

A typical wet Saturday: out and about in the morning dodging showers and working on the computers in the afternoon.

With the possibility of very expensive cancer treatment for our dog in the near future next week I have to start looking at getting new exhibitions, networking with old buyers and actually promoting myself again – after hiding away for most of these year playing with digital art – although the digital art could be marketed itself of course.

 

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Diary, Painting, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 5th July

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your dog, hope all turn out to be better than expected !

    • Thank you very much. The needle aspiration test came back negative so the vet is going to do the op on Friday. Once the operation is out of the way (and I am a bit worried about that) we have just got to wait for the final biopsy. According to June the vet was much happier so fingers crossed that everything will be OK.

Leave a Reply

