Art Diary: Week Ending 18th October

12/10/2014

I divided my time between gardening (mainly moving potted plants about) and drawing/painting on the computer. Most of the odd jobs I had set myself never got done!

Mother And Child

Mother And Child

.

13/10/2014

Poppy (our dog) seems to be unwell again and is finding it difficult to go upstairs – it looks like arthritis unless she had pulled a muscle. We will see how she is tomorrow and then take her to the vet. Worrying about her upset my plans for the day and I spent much of it painting/drawing on the computer.

Comic Strip

Comic Strip

.

14/10/2014

Poppy seems a bit more comfortable today and is navigating the stairs marginally better. My wife and I went to town and had a meal midday day (after a few minutes on the computer) and I was late getting into my study to work. I meant to write but spent most of the time painting. The plans for this week included scanning two sketch books a day and returning to easel painting in my studio. Nether have materialised as yet.

Two Women With Beach Ball

Two Women With Beach Ball

.

15/10/2014

Another late start after finally managing to get some of my domestic jobs done and then to town and finally into my study to write this and a lot of other things.

.

16/102014

I was out in the morning and worked on the computer in the afternoon. Not scanning images as planned but creating art works in a variety of styles. Most of my digital work like most of my drawings done at the beginning of my career in the Seventies are quickly completed spontaneous pictures.

Me In Africa (Square Sun Series)

Me In Africa (Square Sun Series)

.

17/10/2014

Practically all day was spent working on the computer, mainly painting and drawing plus many photograph transformations. Quite a lot was done. I loosely categorise my transformative work – as distinct from paintings and drawing which start from a plain background even if I superimpose images and ideas over the top – into altered (photographically like colour changes and digitally like shape metamorphosis); painted (where I use the image as a template to paint into or onto) and elaborated (where the photographic start images is embellished or transformed into something else.

Landscape Found At The Back Of The Sofa

Landscape Found At The Back Of The Sofa

.

18/10/2014

I went out with my wife in the middle of the day for a bit of shopping and lunch with painting and art work uploading before and after. I never got as much done as planned and managed to side track myself on too many occasions. I did however get a sketch book scanned: the one and only of the week!

Ravine

Ravine

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Diary, Painting, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

