The Saucepan I Balance My Book On

A porcelain pig in a manger.
A man made of soap meets a girl made of water.
I fill a glass with treacle and hold it to the sticky light.
I am not sure if this is the beginning or the end.

A voice I keep inside a pillowcase moves over in the night
while a rainbow stick insect bows before a glass manikin.

A pile of dirty clothes in a shop window.
A frog in a doorway dressed as a round the world yachtsman.
A skyscraper in a matchbox rattles in the back of a fish van.
The public house is full of voices but not people.

A face I keep between the pages of a book I meant to write
smiles when I get to the first chapter (I started reading the story at the end).

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

