Art Diary: Week Ending 29th June

23/06/2013

I spent a lot of this Sunday writing and doing other work on the computers (this took more time than I planned in fact so I will now have to catch up with other work during the week).

24/06/2013

A reasonably good day and I finished painting the landscape on both versions of COUPLE IN A LANDSCAPE and then tidied a few of the lines – not many as I tried to clean them up a bit as I went along.

25/06/2013

I was out all morning and when I finally got settled in my studio I completed the main painting stage of MEMORIES IN A LANDSCAPE.

MEMORIES IN A LANDSCAPE - work in progress

MEMORIES IN A LANDSCAPE – work in progress

26/06/2013

I added all the “personality” symbols to COUPLE IN A LANDSCAPE. These painting are a wedding present but I only know the bride so this is pseudo-charactisation with the symbols derived from the male and female images hidden in the landscape.

COUPLE IN A LANDSCAPE - work in progress

COUPLE IN A LANDSCAPE – work in progress

After this I worked on another small landscape: painting part of LANDSCAPE FROM A DOUBLE DECKER BUS.

LANDSCAPE FROM A DOUBLE DECKER BUS - work in progress

LANDSCAPE FROM A DOUBLE DECKER BUS – work in progress

27/06/2013

My wife was off work mid week again; she went to town and I worked in the garden much of the day – this probably wont become a habit but it does mean I am slowly catching up with all the urgent work in the garden. We went out for a meal in the late afternoon so no creative work done all day (if you exclude deciding what to eat!).

28/06/2013

I painted in the symbols of the two COUPLE IN A LANDSCAPE paintings and completed both works.

COUPLE IN A LANDSCAPE ONE

COUPLE IN A LANDSCAPE ONE

COUPLE IN A LANDSCAPE TWO

COUPLE IN A LANDSCAPE TWO

I then returned to working on the small landscapes: painting part of SIDBURY HILL SEEN FROM WINDMILL HILL.

SIDBURY HILL SEEN FROM WINDMILL HILL - work in progress

SIDBURY HILL SEEN FROM WINDMILL HILL – work in progress

My wife and I went out in the evening to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

29/06/2013

The usual weekend jobs and I then retired to my study to write and work on the computers. I planned to paint during the latter part of the afternoon but ran out of time.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Painting, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Art Diary: Week Ending 29th June

  1. Brian Hughes says:

    Your paintings are excellent. I really ought to knuckle down and start a new one myself, but I just don’t seem to have the creative energy at the moment.

  2. yourothermotherhere says:

    Happy Anniversary to you and June!

  3. Pingback: Going Serial: The Power of Intervals | The Daily Post

Leave a comment