Art Diary: Week Ending 1st December

25/11/2012

As it was nice outside (for a very brief period) I spent a large part of the day in the garden; and when I wasn’t there I was working on the computer.

 

26/11/2012

I had to a get a work ready for an exhibition a friend has invited me to participate in. This was then packaged and posted off – then a break from the world of art to bath the rabbit. I finally got into my studio and started working on the remaining two long pictures (both of these are substantially longer than the previous ones). I put in the structural blocks – yes we are back to putting images within structures! – on both works using thin charcoal. One work is entitled DID I TELL YOU ABOUT THE TIME ATHENA SAVED ME FROM ARES? and the other is called I FELL APART IN THE MIDDLE BUT GOT MYSELF TOGETHER AGAIN AT THE END.

DID I TELL YOU ABOUT THE TIME ATHENA SAVED ME FROM ARES?

DID I TELL YOU ABOUT THE TIME ATHENA SAVED ME FROM ARES? – work in progress

I FELL APART IN THE MIDDLE BUT GOT MYSELF TOGETHER AGAIN AT THE END

I FELL APART IN THE MIDDLE BUT GOT MYSELF TOGETHER AGAIN AT THE END – work in progress

 

27/11/2012

I worked again on DID I TELL YOU ABOUT THE TIME ATHENA SAVED ME FROM ARES? and I FELL APART IN THE MIDDLE BUT GOT MYSELF TOGETHER AGAIN AT THE END. I went over the charcoal lines with paint (while listening to cricket highlights on the computer!) and then roughly washed over these areas with yellow oxide – I went beyond the lines and then wiped part of the painted areas with a wet cloth. Tomorrow I will go over one set of blocks with yellow and the other probably with white (or possibly unbleached titanium).

I also have to prepare two more pictures for another exhibition. Although hopefully this time I wont have to stop to bath the rabbit!

DID I TELL YOU ABOUT THE TIME ATHENA SAVED ME FROM ARES? and I FELL APART IN THE MIDDLE BUT GOT MYSELF TOGETHER AGAIN AT THE END.

DID I TELL YOU ABOUT THE TIME ATHENA SAVED ME FROM ARES? and I FELL APART IN THE MIDDLE BUT GOT MYSELF TOGETHER AGAIN AT THE END.

 

28/11/2012

I painted over the structural blocks on DID I TELL YOU ABOUT THE TIME ATHENA SAVED ME FROM ARES? and I FELL APART IN THE MIDDLE BUT GOT MYSELF TOGETHER AGAIN AT THE END. I used Azo yellow for the former and shades of yellow oxide for the latter.

I got the previously mentioned pictures ready for the exhibition quite quickly in the end as I used two that were already framed – typically after going a through a huge pile of unframed pieces!

DID I TELL YOU ABOUT THE TIME ATHENA SAVED ME FROM ARES? and I FELL APART IN THE MIDDLE BUT GOT MYSELF TOGETHER AGAIN AT THE END - work in progress

DID I TELL YOU ABOUT THE TIME ATHENA SAVED ME FROM ARES? and I FELL APART IN THE MIDDLE BUT GOT MYSELF TOGETHER AGAIN AT THE END – work in progress

 

29/11/2012

I was planning to start work on some of the long pictures started last week but didn’t feel like it when I sat down in my studio – I never used to be this undisciplined! Instead I did the drawing stage of IMPROVISATION WITH LINE THROUGH THE MIDDLE – STARTING WHITE, ENDING GREY using thinned acrylic paint. This is obviously a quicker process than working in pencil first and then over painting, although it is less flexible. Anyway I completed this stage by the end of the day. It could have been thematically and stylistically distinct from what I normally do but it got more typical as the work progressed.

IMPROVISATION WITH LINE THROUGH THE MIDDLE - STARTING WHITE, ENDING GREY - work in progress

IMPROVISATION WITH LINE THROUGH THE MIDDLE – STARTING WHITE, ENDING GREY – work in progress

30/11/2012

I didn’t have a huge amount of time in my studio. However I had enough to more or less do the drawing stage of yesterday’s pendant work: IMPROVISATION BEHIND A ROW OF OPEN PLAN BUILDINGS. Again I used thinned acrylic paint.

IMPROVISATION BEHIND A ROW OF OPEN PLAN BUILDINGS - work in progress

IMPROVISATION BEHIND A ROW OF OPEN PLAN BUILDINGS – work in progress

 

01/12/2012

I went to town in the morning and then I had a string of horrendous odd jobs: like cleaning out the turtle tank (plus half the frog tank; I have the rest of this to look forward to!). I did some writing and other work on the computers from mid afternoon onwards.

About Gerald Shepherd

Gerald Shepherd is a painter, graphic artist, sculptor, digital/multimedia artist, photographer, writer, curator and arts administrator. He has also been involved with science art, performance art, conceptual art, installations and environments (as well as peripheral creative pursuits such as garden design).
This entry was posted in Art, Computing, Diary, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment